Unbalanced logo

Two days in a row of football...

...With a bunch of fellow Vets.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Random snap

30OCT2021; 0520, SAT

How fitting that I begin this post about "pigskin" with some new "Battles" at one of the two exact times that corresponds with my unit, 5/20 INF. All matters considered, the two games that I'm finna get y'all hip to are going to be some of the more memorable moments of recent times for my Black behind.

Before I get to deep into me landing hard on my behind with a few decent catches and such, I want to get a caveat out the way: All names have been changed to protect privacy (as usual). Simple and plain.

There's "Benny", the other African American involved who's undoubtedly athletic; "Aaron", who was on my team for both games; "Ray" who was permanent QB (quarterback) for the first game; "Ed" who reffed and played DJ for the first game; "Brad", who is more of a BAMF (Badass mofo) than Brad Pitt and Bradley Cooper put together in my book; and last but certainly not least, "Terrell", my BFF (Best Friend Forever) for the past several weeks or so. "Squad goals."

Game one took place on WED, and I will readily admit that I've likely already forgotten most of the coolest aspects of it. At any rate, the facts of the first game as I remember them:

We were more or less destined to get out there for this one from the moment Terrell saw me and one of my mentors, "Derek" we'll call him, playing catch one one of the last remnants of summer. Of course, Terrell joined me and Derek briefly before having to step away for yet another Bizz call.

Between that instance, the several strengthening workouts, and the many miles that me and Terrell enjoyed together in such a short period of time; I had a "sneaky suspicion" that at least one scrimmage/exhibition was in the cards. Thankfully, I was easy enough to be found and dragged to the line of scrimmage on each occasion.

The first one, we actually started out just playing catch with me, Terrell, Ray, Aaron, and Ed. Again, thankfully, Brad came out of nowhere and was cool enough to cut his phone convo short so as to join us.

We did a bit of "laces & faces" to figure out who was on what team. Fun fact: I was pretty much "today years old" when I learned that this was a quick, easy, and fair way to get team members selected randomly.

The game began with a "kick off" return touchdown by Brad thx to a missed tackle by my nonathletic self. Praise be the Heavens that Aaron and I kept our heads cool so as to manage to eke out an unlikely victory at the 11th hour.

I won't go into too many details; but let's just say that the games winning TD was beautifully (if I may brag) caught by none other than yours truly. I'm inclined to believe that the living legend, "Ocho Cinco" couldn't have hardly done it with more style and grace.

Full disclosure: I most def got beat on a couple routes; landed hard on my head once; and collapsed in exhaustion at the end of the game. There's a lot more that I could say on the matter; tho, I'm already at the minimum word count pretty much.

Game two took place the next day; and unfortunately Aaron, Ray, and I took an L(oss). To make matters worse, that was the day before Aaron relocated; so there won't be a tiebreaker.

There's some dispute over the score of game two, and I don't believe that anyone remembers the score to game one. There were lessons learned tho, and we ensured that our valuables were placed atop our shirts this time around.

So, I'm (slightly) biased, but I believe that the only reason why we didn't get our 2nd W(in) on THU was because of at least a couple bad falls by me, what with almost all of my weight landing hard on my right femur. I real live thought that I knew about pain, my being "prior service" and all.

Mannn... Thankfully, I'm not walking with a limp or anything like that since yesterday or so.

Almost forgot: We were playing "one hand", instead of the traditional rough and rowdy "two hand touch"; or the extensive flag football. Us old heads knew straight from the jump that playing tackle was simply out of the question.

I'd like to end this note by giving one more shout out to the guys; especially Terrell for dragging my overly reluctant self out there twice in a row. Also, mad props to Benny and Brad for the exceptional game winning play the other day.

Godspeed, gents.

***

Prayerfully, someone somewhere gets something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If that somebody's you, then please think about considering a Like/Tip/Share/Sub, and/or checking out some of my other posts.

Also, if you're in the market for an article of clothing or two, there's a link in my bio. Please don't think for a minute that I will be unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

TIA (Thx In Advance). Peaceful Tidings.

***

football
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.