Unbalanced logo

The Beginning of My Love for Track and Field

My first three coaches - Mr. & Mrs. Price and Dave Eastwood made us feel like a family

By Carrie BertschyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Reyoldsburg Meet in July 1986

Running is a sport that you can try at any age. You could start at kindergarten or be a first time runner at the age of 25. It can be done - it is just a matter of how much you love it and are motivated to continue the sport. At what age do you become a runner? For myself, I decided to try it at a young age and it became my best sport. I began my days in Hershey Track in the 4th grade. The first year I was on my own because my sister and brother did not seem interested. Being the oldest in my family, I tried a season of track in the summer of 1986. It is not easy to remember it, but there are some parts I can remember. It was the beginning of my love for running that would follow me for many years.

When I started running track, I had three coaches- Mr. Price, Mrs. Price, and Mr. Eastwood. The first distance I tried was a 400 meter. That is one time around an outdoor track. I started out running and made it to 200 meters and completely stopped to walk the rest of the way. I was thinking to myself, "That is a very long distance for a 4th grader to run, do I have what it takes?" The motivation was not there for the 400 meter, but Mr. Eastwood was the distance coach and he trained me for a few weeks. I was intimidated to continue it. I was worried I would do the same thing- make it to 200 meters and walk the rest of the race. I would be so embarassed to walk part of the race and my breathing had not developed to have the endurance to last 400 meters. I felt that I should do the shorter races and try the 400 in the future.

Running track in the 4th grade- 1986
At one of the track meets

Mr. and Mrs. Price were in charge of the team and for the shorter distances- 100 meters and 200 meters. I remember going to the meets and being in heats in order for each person to participate in the races. I was worried about the 400 meter, so I asked if I could try the 100. The meets were located in different parts of Ohio. The picture , above this story, is at the Reyoldsburg Meet. I was placed in the 100 meter and my time was not bad for as young as I was in 1986. I watched all the other runners on the track and wanted to be able to be as fast as them. Mr. and Mrs. Price had their own family members on the team, so I was running with their family. I felt like a family the two seasons I was in Hershey Track. Every time my coaches told us to do the right thing, I heard people say , " The Prices are Right" (like the game show with Bob Barker) which was our humor to their coaching. When in doubt, always listen to the coach. I listen to the Prices and enjoyed being a part of their team. I felt I was in the right sport with the right people.

Team member and parent

After the summer season ended in 1986, I returned for a second season in 1988. Unfortunately, I did not have the opportunity to participate in 1987 . In 1988, I was older and brought my sister and brother with me to the team. My sister Ellen was in the fourth grade and my brother Doug was in the second grade. I had been the first sibling to try the sport. I liked it a lot, so my sister and brother were curious. My siblings and I participated that summer season in 1988 and were enjoying the team. For each sibling, we participated in the shorter distances- 100meter and 200 meter. I felt since I was intimidated by the 400, and almost quit, I advised my sister Ellen and my brother Doug to stick with the shorter races. I said to them, as their big sister, " You might be too worried about finishing the 400meters, so try shorter distance, and work your way to a longer race." It seemed to work out and we had a great time with the Prices and the entire team.

My sister Ellen on the track
My brother Doug has the #6 jersey on for the heat
Carrie ( oldest sister) #5 jersey for a 100m heat

After the 1988 season ended, I was going to middle school in the fall as a 7th grader. My sister and brother seemed to enjoy it as much as I did. It was the only sport the three of us were in together as siblings. That is why I remember it. I continued my track and field adventures in middle school and enjoyed the team too. But I don't think I would have stayed in track without my first three coaches- The Prices and Mr. Eastwood. I was very thankful to start track and field at a young age. I loved the coaches and felt like a member of the Price family for each season. It was hard to say good-bye that last season, but I met up with their family members in high school. It is great to have photographs of the coaches and meets. It helps me remember the seasons. If you have kids who love to run around, I would encourage them to try track and field. It is a great sport and it can help them decide, if they like running, or they think it is not their sport. It might be, as memorable for them, as this was in 1986 and 1988 for my siblings and me.

At the Raiders track
My sister, brother, and me at a meet

culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.