Unbalanced logo

Jojo Degl Pays John Jay in Full with All-American Honor

See slideshow and videos

By Rich MonettiPublished 3 days ago Updated 2 days ago 3 min read

John Jay Commitment Ceremony

2023-2024 Video

Please see tip, pledge and subscribe buttons below or send tip via venmo at @Rich-Monetti

Jojo Degl played JV for John Jay girls lacrosse in 8th grade and admits that she was probably a nightmare to be around when 9th grade had her trying out for the varsity. “Then I got the email that I made the team” she said. “I lost my mind.” So the excitement long out of her system, the junior has racked up the honors and now probably takes the announcements like old hat.

A pretty tall order for the latest, she wanted to keep this accolade quiet as the boys lacrosse team was playing in the section finals. With her sister at the game, Jojo was bursting at the seams. “I couldn’t hold it back from her, but we were in front of people. So I told her you can’t have any reaction to what I tell you,” Degl conveyed being named all All-American.. “She got very excited and emotional. So it was very sweet.”

The secret contained and the focus remaining on the boys, lacrosse is not where her future started. “Everyone plays soccer when they are young,” she said.

Degl quickly learned the sport was not for her, and in third grade, onto lacrosse it was. First a goalie, that wasn’t her either, and not before long, the kinetics had her settled in as a midfielder. “I had a lot of energy and I could run,” remembered Degl who is also well accomplished as a Gaelic football player.

But the sport kicked into high gear on the stand still. In sixth grade, Degl was on hand when John Jay reached the section finals, and a lasting impression was made. “I saw the skill level that everyone was playing at, and I was like, I want this to be me one day,” Degl recalled.

Her coach at the time was Stacey Wierl, and the double edge of the current girls hockey coach was the right mix. “She was kind and strict and that immediately got your respect,” said Degl.

So did the give and take. “She will go to the end of the Earth for you as long as you do the same for her,” Degl clarified.

Her current coach also strikes the right balance in terms of the carrot and the stick. “It’s all good,” said Degl of Coach Jess McDonough.

The same goes for the coach’s availability and attention given her players. “The one thing that always stands out is her communication. She’s always there. I’ll send her a text at 11 O’Clock at night, and she will respond in minutes,” said Degl.

The nick of time is closest to home, though. “One coach that was always with me throughout has been my dad. He has been super involved with women’s lacrosse ever since Finja and I started playing. He really is so dedicated to this sport because it’s something that me and Finja enjoy playing,” she said. “I can’t thank him enough for that.”

Of course, her mom doesn’t just cheer from the sidelines. “My mom is my biggest supporter and knows that this award was my goal going into this season. She would help me prepare both mentally and physically for each game. She was over the moon to hear the good news, and I am so grateful for everything she’s done,” Degl extolled.

So probably will James Madison University, where Degl will be playing lacrosse 2026. “I’m more excited than anything,” she said, “It’s definitely going to be a challenge, but I’m ready for it.”

Still a year to go at John Jay, Degl has put a priority on coming full circle. “When I was younger there were older girls on the team who were phenomenal role models, so I want to pay it forward and be able to provide the same example.”

Only she doesn’t need to 2025 to settle any debts. The check went in the mail a long time ago, and the John Jay community of players, coaches and students have already been paid in full.

hockey

About the Creator

Rich Monetti

I am, I write.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rich MonettiWritten by Rich Monetti

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.