The Swamp logo

TODAY IT IS ELECTION DAY, GO OUT AND VOTE!

I VOTED IN PERSONE

By rose m lewisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
TODAY IT IS ELECTION DAY, GO OUT AND VOTE!
Photo by Dan Dennis on Unsplash

Tuesday morning I drank coffee and went to vote. I only had a five-minute drive to the polling place. The elementary school had two buildings to vote. I went to vote but they did not have me registered to vote. I should have gone to the school right next door. I am a registered voter and I had no problem with the ballot. I received the ballot and I went to an open station to cast my vote. After I voted I waited in line to put the ballot into the machine. I had to wait until the machine validated the ballot. I was there for about half an hour. I was done, I walked to my SUV and went home. At home, I did my chores and later I would watch the election.

This year voting is extremely important. I live in Alaska and many people work on the slope for the oil companies. If these jobs were taken away it would devastate Alaska's economy. President Trump opened ANWR but if Biden wins he is going to close ANWR. Yes, the environment is very important but to what extent? To the extent of unemployment and not a good economy for Alaska. Fracking is a big part of the oil industry, if there were no fracking the oil companies would have to lay off workers. Americans should not let this happen! Other states in America have oil companies that employ many workers. Alaska is not the only state that has an oil industry. There are many other states in America that oil is the main industry. Trump is for America to produce oil and not to rely on other countries. If Biden the oil industries will suffer and jobs would be lost.

What I am hearing there might be another lockdown in America! Yes COVID19 is running high and people are sick and people are dying. But is this what Americans want if so all Americans will be out of a job. Small businesses will go out of business and if they employ workers both of them would be out of work. Americans could slow the spread of COVID19 if they will wear masks and Practice social distancing. So closing America should not be the answer the answer should be simple. Leave America OPEN, so businesses can thrive and the government doesn't have to bail them out.

Immigration is a problem in America do we need to give immigrants welfare? President Trump made sure that the caravan of immigrants would be stoped. If they want to come into this country they should do it legally! I believe President Trump was right to stop the caravan. Letting thousands of immigrants into America is not the answer. I praise President Trump for all that he did to make America great again. I only hope America can overcome all these obstacles plaguing us. If former vice president Biden is elected he also will stop the Oil Industry from fracking. Biden's answer is to tax us legal Americans but let all immigrants into the United States. Should illegal immigrants collect welfare? I am a senior citizen and I can not have food stamps! America does not need to take care of illegal immigrants. America needs to take care of LEGAl AMERICAN'S!

ALASKA TONGASS NATIONAL FOREST

By trevor pye on Unsplash

The agency I wish to give to if I am selected as a winner is Green Peace, Alaska Tongass National Forest. President Trump has opened up the forest for logging. I would not want to see this forest destroyed because of logging! The many animals that live in this forest will not be there if logging is allowed! The trees and foliage in the forest give off oxygen for humans to breathe. If logging is permitted the oxygen will not be in the air, making it harder for us to breathe. Alaska has many forests but The Tongass National Forest is on the chopping block! Yes, I would give to Green Peace so they can protect this forest. This is one issue with president Trump I disagree and it is No Logging in the Alaska Tongass National Forest.

GET OUT AND VOTE!

By Glen Carrie on Unsplash

This year is very crucial to vote for than in other years! There are many issues at stake in which one should vote. There are two candidates each with different views and the way they want to have the government-run. I just hope the right candidate will get elected for America! I know you do too. Voting is a democracy of the American people, and we should all take advantage of it.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.