The Swamp logo

The Worthless Black Life

Black Lives Matter

By Poetry LoverPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Can We Value Us First

I’m sure some people might get mad about what I’m about to say. Which to each is it’s own. Everybody is entitled to think what they want to and say what they want to right? Not that my two cents matter but speaking for myself and from experience of losing loved ones to senseless violence leads to what I’m about to say. A lot of violence is going on is the world currently a lot of innocent babies lost their lives to senseless violence over the holiday weekend. There is no march, there is no protest, there is not enough outrage. Everybody live to jump on the bandwagon when it comes to Black lives matter, or Us vs. the Cops, or Black vs. Whites and so on. Take a long look in the mirror and reflect upon yourself and what you have do towards other people that was not right. I’ve heard so many people say it’s different because this and that. At the end of the day the results are the same no matter who does anything harmful towards another human being. I’ve lost my brother, my cousins, my uncle, countless number of friends to gun violence and I’m only 33 years old. Going to a funeral is the new normal gathering nowadays. When will it stop. We have to value ourselves first before we can tell someone else to value us. People rather say RIP or free this person or that person in a hashtag before they tell their loved ones no don’t do that, don’t kill him or her. Police brutality is a problem. Injustices on the minorities is a problem. Black on black crime is a problem. I’m not going to pick and choose which is worse than the other it’s all bad. I don’t want to hear about statistics and rates. The fact of the matter is innocent lives are being taken away on both sides. People shouldn’t be planning a child’s funeral unless it’s a natural cause of death not due to a bullet ripping throw their bodies. I can imagine my heart goes out to the families of the babies that this is currently a reality for them. New generations aren’t even living beyond the age of 30. Who will be the elders once everybody born before 1970 are no longer with us, because at this rate it’s just going to be kids running around with no parents if they even make it through to the next day. Don’t be scared to speak your mind out of fear of losing friends. Right is right and wrong is wrong. I wrote this poem a couple of weeks ago when the protest was going on.

My Life Matters

Rioting, fighting, crying, and screaming

My people are tired; so tired of the mistreatment

Black people are numb to this agonizing pain

Our ancestors blood still bleeding from our veins

It’s our blood spilled all over the streets

They started this war ; they never wanted peace

The vicious cycle of white supremacy on repeat

Buildings burning down it’s their turn to feel the heat

They burned down our churches, homes, and crosses on our lawns

This ain’t like back in the day it’s certainly a new dawn

No f*cks were given, no justice or consequences

No respect, no remorse, no morals or consciousness

On the other hand you got the black man I mean the ni**a

Blasting off with no hesitation on pulling the trigger on another ni**a

I mean black man, you don’t value us

So they don’t value us because all they see is us killing us

Don’t tell me it’s different

Don’t tell me it’s not the same

You’re just like them inflicting the same pain

We not moving strategically; with a set game plan

You are apart of the same problem working for free for the man

You might as well mask up and be apart of the Klan

You can’t tell me killing your own brother was apart of God’s plan

There’s casualties in war innocent people being hurt

You pumping dope in your neighborhood it’s only your people that’s being hurt

It’s time for a change for our future generations

It’s not only the cops but it’s our own people erasing us

By Miss Bailey

controversies
Like

About the Creator

Poetry Lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.