The Swamp logo

The Rocket's Red Glare

That the Flag is Still There

By Margaret BrennanPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 5 min read
3

When we sing our National Anthem, how many of us actually visualize the events and images that triggered the words that were the inspiration to this magnificent poem? (Yes, it began a poem. The music wasn’t added until 1931.)

For as many years as I can remember, I didn’t. I never gave the events a thought. It wasn’t until I was in my teens that I realized what those words meant. It was not because I was anti-American. Quite the contrary. I was and still am a loyal American and once I knew and understood the words and their meaning, I began singing it loudly while tears threatened to stream down my cheeks. Yes, it gets me emotional. Thinking how closely we came to losing this magnificent country, always causes a hitch to my breath.

As hard as I try, I cannot imagine the pride and awe Francis Scott Key felt as he witnessed our National Emblem still flying high amid cannons and rockets that tried to destroy his beloved country.

Key voluntarily boarded a vessel where his friend lay injured. Upon seeing his friend, neither was allowed to leave the ship fearing their lives would be endangered. Key sat there all night listening to the roar of cannon fire and guns blasting the walls of Fort McHenry.

At daybreak, after a day of bombardment, on the morning of September 14, 1814, he climbed to the deck and saw, even while the ramparts were still as red as hot coals, the fort was indeed still standing, and the flag still flying. The British, no matter how they tried, could not seize the fort and eventually gave up. These spectacles inspired him to write the words, “And the rocket’s red glare, the bombs bursting in air, gave proof through the night, that the flag was still there.”

He sat in wonderous awe and finished his poem.

On June 18, 1812, America declared war on Great Britain after a series of trade disagreements and the war began. In August, British troops invaded Washington, DC and burned the White House, Capitol Building, and the Library of Congress. Their next plan was to invade and seize Baltimore. Thankfully, they failed, there, too.

More baffling to me is the fact that I can envision the battle that occurred while the Americans fought with all their might to obtain the freedom that was sought and paid for with the blood of those courageous young men. I can’t help but wonder if I’d have had the same courage to fight as hard and possibly die for the same freedom as they did. I would like to think I would.

To this day, while we are allies Great Britain, on every July 4th, we celebrate our independence from British rule. Yes, we have our own share of problems. The very freedom that we fought so hard to secure, has given us our own set of struggles. People take for granted what our freedom means. Freedom comes with a set of rules everyone must follow to ensure we don’t lose that freedom or even come close to losing it as we once had.

Each year, I eagerly look forward to watching our fireworks rise in the sky and explode in a spectacular burst of reds, oranges, and yellows that light the sky in a symbolic demonstration that was once cannon bursts, all to prove that we are still thriving as a country. It is a true reminder of that time during the war of 1812. Maybe that’s why I simply love listening to the Overture of 1812 by Tchaisovsky.

The music is breathtaking especially when you can sit back, close your eyes, and envision the call to arms, the battle, the respite for the fatigued, the march again to war, and finally the victory. For some reason, I can, and that never fails to have my family shake their heads in wonder not understanding why they see my cry each time I hear it.

I wish there was a way to explain the emotion I feel. Am I a history buff that has gotten so caught up in our history of that time? I don’t think so. History usually bored me. Yet this one, has me by the heartstrings.

One thing for sure is that I never have, don’t now, and never will take my freedom for granted, so maybe that’s why hearing our National Anthem and the 1812 Overture can affect me so much. Who knows?

This past July 4th, our friends took us out on their boat. We sailed into Charlotte Harbor to have a better view of the fireworks being illuminated from the shore.

My friend looked at me and in a worried tone asked if I were ok. I responded with, “I’m fine. Fireworks get me emotional, that’s all.” After they were over, we sailed home, they went to their house, and we walked the few doors to ours.

The next day, she came to visit and asked if I was sure I was ok. I explained the emotional state I enter each year explaining the bit of history she already knew but now because of the way it affected me, had been given a better understanding of it.

Then I asked her this:

Wouldn’t it be a wonderful country if this part of our history were taught in schools? At one time, it was. For some reason, it isn’t any longer. However, my suggestion would be to not just teach this history of the war of 1812, but the aftermath, how we won our freedom and why we fought so hard for it. Teach the history of our National Anthem. What Francis Scot Key saw and felt as he penned the poem that now means so little to so many people. We need to teach them what the 4th of July should mean to all of us. It’s not just a day off work and/or school.

They need to understand why and how so many Americans fought and died for the freedom we now enjoy and which so many of us abuse.

As I sit here writing this, I am listening to the 1812 Overture and yes, the tears are filling and falling while I envision the relief and joy of our victory.

I can only hope that this essay I’ve just written can enlighten at least a few people and give them the same feeling of pride and awareness and yes, awe that I feel each time I hear our National Anthem and the 1812 Overture.

Have a pleasant day and God bless America.

history
3

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • RD Brennan2 years ago

    I will never listen the same uncompassionate way to our National Anthem again. Thank you, THANK YOU, for this heartfelt emotional tribute to our Flag and Country and men who fought and died to make it such

  • Mary Sullivan2 years ago

    As a former teacher, I agree. This should be taught in all schools. Thank you for bringing a part of our history to an emotional realism.

  • Shirley Belk2 years ago

    Amen to the that!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.