The Swamp logo

Sup Pop?

Make your vote count!

By Carol GatewoodPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I came into this world, it was as an American, for which I am grateful. I was not associated with any particular political party. My knowledge of politics filtered into my life like most things I learned. I remember my father getting spiffy, every once in a while, and heading out early in the morning, to return later in the evening. Now I knew that on these occasions he was up to something different because my dad rarely got spiffy. He was an electrician and spiffy was not a job requirement.

My curiosity finally got the best of me and I hit him with the W's: what, why & where. He stood proudly and eagerly informed me that when an election came around, he, as a good and loyal Democrat, represented his party at the polls. He handed out flyers and encouraged voters to pull the lever for his man or woman, the last being a rarity at this point in time. This was when it was ok to work at the polls. Now it is not permitted to be within a certain distance campaigning for your candidate. His explanation was received and accepted.

A few years later, as a high school student, I was given an assignment that involved delving into the political arena. We had to write a paper on a chosen aspect of the political system. So, I thought, who better to go to for an insight into this process but my father. He was eager to help so we talked. I asked questions and he provided me with competent answers. Then came the question that changed my opinion of politics and association with the process of elections. I asked, “Dad, how do you decide on who you are going to vote for”? His answer knocked me for a loop.

“I vote for whatever Democrat is running," he offered. I was amazed and somewhat shocked by his reply. I couldn’t really argue at this time, I mean, I was a fledgling in this area. I respected my dad and as such did not question his reasoning.

As I got older and reached the age whereas I could cast my vote, I found that I couldn’t share my dad’s outlook on the voting process. I found that it was important to take the time to learn as much as you could about your choice. I was registered as a Democrat but didn’t share my dad’s strict allegiance to a party.

It came to pass that each and every time an election came around, whether the vote was for dog catcher or president, my dad and I would go at debating with each other over our different views. It finally came to a head when a somewhat heated argument ensued and I asked him a question for which I stated that I wanted no answer. I wanted him to search within himself and allow the man I knew to confront his decision. My question was; if the Pope, a Republican, and Adolph Hitler, a Democrat were running for office, who would you vote for Dad? I received an icy stare of disbelief. I had never been the victim of this look. I did not like it, but I had to put the question to him. I also posed another question that day; I asked him where should our loyalty be, to a party or the country that should receive our alliance, as well as the same we owe to our family and friends. He was a good man, and this stand he took, was a major kink in his armor.

He did not give me an answer that day or any day thereafter. Gradually he started searching me out to discuss upcoming elections. Finally, he crossed the line and voted for someone he thought would do a better job and be the representative he was chosen to be. I smiled that day and beamed with pride.

I believe that it is apparent that the two party system has become more of a detriment in our lives and not the solution our forefathers sought to provide. Wouldn’t it be something to have one party that strives not to seek credit for a job done, but to make this country as good as it can be? Seems that a good name for this party could be: The American Party.

votingactivismpolitics
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.