The Swamp logo

Should Abortion be Allowed?

Yes, that IS a rhetorical question

By Hamish MacCollPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The World is Getting Darker

Well This Is Bullshit.

Like many people in the globalised world of today, I’ve heard about the leaked-draft from SCOTUS about overturning Roe v Wade.

And, being a man and having a penis; I naturally have an opinion.

What in all Seven Hells is happening in America? How is this an issue in the 21st Century?

I live in New Zealand, a country that is plagued by rampant idiocy, but thankfully not to this magnitude.

My partner and I don’t want kids. Never will, unless something drastic changes for the both of us.

However, over the last few days we have been discussing this issue with all the academic decorum it deserves. (Read: every second word is “fuck”).

My view is quite simple, really. It is the woman's body It is her choice. Pregnancy is taxing on the body. Pregnancy comes with the risk of complications and those complication are potentially life-threatening.

And, to top it all off, if you don't want children, you shouldn't be forced to have them. It doesn't matter if you can afford them, if you can give them a good life, meet all their basic needs, everything. All of that is secondary.

Do you want children? No?

Then you shouldn't be forced to have them.

Pro-Birthers can claim whatever they want about a foetus - often incorrectly talking about when a heartbeat can be detected - while lacking any actual basis in science. They ramble about how human life starts at conception, which is funny, especially for those Christian Evangelicals. The Bible itself states the *person* was not living until God “breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being”. Genesis 2:7

I’m atheist, in case any of you are wondering. I was raised as an Anglican Christian. However, there was so much that I felt was inherently wrong with what I was being told. I left when I was fifteen, and whilst I've had many situations where people have told me "God is the Way", I just don't have the energy for it anymore.

And it appears that the religious Right wish to infringe on others rights, again.

The hypocrisy of the Right (because it is tragically no longer the Far-Right) is absurd. They use the Bible to justify stripping rights from people - usually minorities and women - and have the audacity to ignore their own fairytale’s words on the matter.

I’ve had enough of it.

When I was younger, I thought the way to mend what was broken was compromise. That kindness, empathy and understanding were the keys to paving a better future. However, over the last six years the world has regressed.

And I’ve realised I was wrong. Compromise is not the way forward.

We live in a world where compromise is losing. Not because we all want to win. But, because one side views basic human rights as something to be questioned. Something that can be debated over.

I do not hate Conservatives, or right wingers. I just wish that their viewpoints were less heinous and that they'd stop trying to tear us back to the 1750s.

Abortion should be an immutable right for all women. Without needing a justification or a reason. Without being vilified or questioned.

That’s it. All there is to it. I could explain why I feel it’s a medical-issue rather than a religious or a moral one.

But I won’t. I don’t need to.

It should be an immutable right, enshrined in law, protected by law, and upheld by the law. Anyone that feels differently, you are an asshole.

End of story.

Toodles and best wishes,

Hamish

P.S Feel free to scream into the void with me The world is only getting worse.

legislation
Like

About the Creator

Hamish MacColl

I'm attempting t find financial success in a world that is horrifically geared towards being financially destitute for the vast majority of people. Wish me luck!

You can find me over at: https://hamishmaccoll.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.