The Swamp logo

Political Discussion?

Is there any way to get it right?

By Shanon NormanPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
1

Five or ten years ago I didn't mind talking about government or politics with other people. I used to write articles about how as an American it was our duty to vote. I would send my vote through the mail when I knew enough to do so. Then I became a Felon in 2018 and although I can go through the red-tape process of re-instating my voting privilege, I haven't done so since I was released from jail five years ago. My opinion on voting changed. I'm just not sure that I trust the voting system. It's not because Biden and Trump say whatever they say. It's because logically thinking, I see too many ways for the current voting system to make mistakes. That's not democracy then. That's just a flawed veil to make it seem like the people's opinions matter, when in reality, there is no way to know for certain what the masses really want.

As I scroll through Facebook or Twitter or Youtube, I see articles and posts about all kinds of American controversies. I've been worried and complaining about the homeless crisis for over two decades, and now the entire West Coast of America is proving in devastating numbers what I was worried about. I'm a victim too. I lost count of how many homeless shelters I've had to stay at. Some people were victims of hurricanes, flooding, and other tragic storms. Some people were victims of the failing economy and Corona Virus. I'm mostly a victim of believing in a system that has major flaws in it and when I voice my concerns, I find mostly apathy. Patriotism has become something many people scoff at or laugh at. Why?

I'm not a fan of Trump or Biden. I think they have both done awful in their time as President. I never thought I'd say this, but Obama was the last decent President. I judge a Presidency based on what's going on in America and the quality of my life during their term. Every President from 1971 to Obama did not fail as epically as Trump or Biden. The two of them spend more time slinging mud at each other than doing anything positive for our country or the country's people. While they flood Twitter and the news stations with more stories of scandalous behaviors, there are cities in Seattle, Oregon, and all over California swamped with homelesss camps. While they talk about sex, gender, and racism, there are people in nursing homes being neglected and abused, retirees sleeping in their cars, people who can work being rejected from employment because of something on their record from their past, and people who gave up on voting (like me) because the red tape is heinous, the system is flawed, or they aren't even allowed to vote while they woud get punished for not paying taxes.

I point these specific problems out because I stand firm in my belief that Biden and Trump have both failed us. Can any American tell me one thing that has improved since Obama left office? Just one improvement? All I've seen and heard is controversy after controversy and two spoiled brats screaming at each other about who is going to jail. It's more embarrassing to me as a patriotic American than when I have to wear an adult diaper.

The medical facilities have lost honor and integrity. The police are feared and ineffectual. Schools can't produce students who can pass a math test. Colleges and businesses are going bankcrupt. In the meantime, my mailbox is still flooded with expensive advertisements for $3000 cruise trips. In the meantime, cell phone millenials still think that the future is written based on places like rent.com and harmony.com..... Big sigh. I've spent too much time being depressed about it. Yet I can't avoid it no matter how hard I try to hide.

presidentpoliticspoliticianslegislationeducationcorruptioncontroversies
1

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor8 months ago

    Dear Ms. Shanon - I feel that we are all "Victims Too" - I try to twist it in so many ways of rationalization but still have no answers of the goings on; a shame. - Miss You - btw; Cruise ShuffleBoard anyone Jay

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.