The Swamp logo

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass, An African Slav

By Samantha GarciaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
This photo shows Frederick Douglass around 1855. By then, he was one of the most prominent voices in the movement to abolish slavery. LIBRARY OF CONGRESS/GETTY IMAGES

I, Frederick Douglass, want to speak to all Millennials. I want to tell you all as growing up as a black man born into slavery that life has not been easy. The truth about slavery is horrible. There is so much knowledge that mankind just does not know. Slaves did not grow up to have an intelligent output. There are so many things that we did not know. We lacked information such as our own age, how to read and write, we did not know compassion and kindness. Even though we were victims of slavery and were not even treated as humans and less than dogs. The only thing that kept us fair-minded was being able to sing. Slaves were just a property that endured forced labor to do whatever our masters wanted us to do. We weren’t able to have knowledge of what we were capable of and were surrounded by depression and darkness itself. But, I want you to realize that life has it is bittersweet moments. That the Millennials can actually change society as a whole. Get rid of racial tension built up for centuries and learn to love each other. All I ask is please do not judge someone base on their bloodline and the appearance of the color of their skin.

The beginning of my life was not the best it could have been. It was not until I escape from my slaveholders and ran to the northern states that I realized I could make a change. I taught myself to read and write as a common white person could do. I learned to believe in myself and speak the truth about slave owners. I can tell you that what you may never learn from history textbooks is that I never had that natural “bonding” that you should have with a mother. I did not grow up in a home where I had parents to love me equally. I am a mix-blood of a white man who was my master and a black woman who was a slave. I was not beloved by my father and was looking down upon for my bloodline. I know a lot of you today suffer from the same concept and that you come from broken home the way I did, but you can better yourself from it similar to how I executed. Though, don’t let that be your whole burden. I want you to know that you are able to do better for yourself, your future kids, and your grandchildren.

Everyone, I want you to learn that being a slave was difficult and I probably had just a little of a better life than most slaves. However, you can not blame all whites for the problems you face daily with life. Without the help of some white people, I no doubt would not be able to speak out and share my experiences with you all. For example, my fellow friends whose names were Nathan Johnson and William Lloyd Garrison. Nathan helped me change who I am and William helped me achieve the goal of writing this book to share my experience as a slave. In today’s mix of races yes you still have some that want to knock you back, but the majority want to see you shine. That is certainly something you have more of than I did. I had a small hand of people willing to help me, but you have numerous folks to help guide you in your journey of life. If there are things that I could ask of you, is that you please do not get lost in trying to prove yourself. I dare you to run out that door screaming I am someone and only you can prove yourself that you can accomplish anything. Do not let someone question your worth, know your own worth.

He told me, if I would be happy, I must lay out no plans for the future. He said, if I behaved myself properly, he would take care of me. Indeed, he advised me to complete thoughtlessness of the future, and taught me to depend solely upon him for happiness. He seemed to see fully the pressing necessity of setting aside my intellectual nature, in order to contentment in slavery. But in spite of him, and even in spite of myself, I continued to think, and to think about the injustice of my enslavement, and the means of escape.

If I had not gained the motion to inspire my escape for freedom, I probably would not be able to share my story. The main thing I am trying to teach you is, I want you to become the bigger person and stand up for what you believe in. Learn not to be corrupt and create chaos in the process. This generation’s society could be even more aware and be able to teach Centennials how to accept each other. To be positive, be bold, and have confidence in yourself that you will be able to succeed. Having these qualities in life will help you to reach for the sky, have advanced possibilities, and not be held back. Yes, you always hear history will repeat itself. There does seem like several things going on today that many have suffered from before. For example, the riots in our streets and people destroying property in order for their voices to be heard. But if you walk into this world ready to conquer it not willing to let someone tell you what can not be done and complete what needs to happen. Then the future generations that are right around the corner will be glorious. Instead, of being divided and see that we have the ability to comprehend one another. Then, maybe one day we could trample out the thought of skin tones and look at each other as one.

The whole point about sharing my story is just for society to have an idea of what true slavery is about. To actually learn about the horrors that we slaves faced. Even today, there are perhaps some people who feel like they are slaves. I want you all to just read my book and learn a few things. And I am sure, the information that you will learn about can teach you that life is messed up in more ways than one. Although, with friends and people who care about you, you can be able to see the positive ways in life. Do not let people think that they own you and just push you around. Society has a long way of being kind to each other and spreading the love. With Millennials, I am pretty sure that you all are capable of making a change for the good of the cause.

Reference: Frederick Douglass, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An African Slave (The Anti-Slavery Office, No. 25 Cornhill, 1845), 88

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Garcia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.