The Swamp logo

I Gotta Pee

Transgenders in Public Bathrooms

By Wakai SafinPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you've been following social media and the news lately, I'm pretty sure you've heard about the big issue on which bathroom transgender people should be allowed to use. You have some people who are pro gay rights and support using the room which matches their gender identity, while others who strongly oppose the move for various reasons. I see this not as a social issue regarding rights to either party but as a ploy to stir controversy and trigger an emotional response.

I would take the more scientific "Vulcan" approach to this quandary. Many in the religious community see the recent civil rights movement as a direct challenge to God and his authority. I've read many posts quoting the bible and, I'm paraphrasing right now, but "a man shall only lay with a woman and a woman shall only lay with a man." I'm not the one to question one's beliefs but for the sake of this argument, it would be more beneficial to not impose one's personal beliefs on others. So while your religion might forbid homosexual acts, we should attack this from open mindset.

We have to not allow our own standards and beliefs impact our decisions. The other defense for those opposing the new bathroom laws is the fear of pedophiles abusing the law as a way to get a sneak peek at innocent children. In no way, shape, or form do I support pedophilia (let me just make that clear), but I have to assume that sex offenders do not need a law in place to be cruel and offensive. The new laws might seem as a safe haven for creeps to watch people and children in very private moments. But, since when has any laws stopped a peeping tom? People who aren't rapists don't avoid raping victims because of a fear of jail time. They do it because it's the right thing to do. So I conclude that this law would not increase the number of pedophiles or attacks. It's not like people were suppressing the urge to be creepy and suddenly with a new excuse they come out of the closet, they were always that way.

Now with religion and the fear of child molesters out of the conversation, we can begin the debate on the real issue. Should people who have had sex change operations be allowed to use the restroom of their new gender? I say yes...why not? To be honest, as a guy, I don't want a man who is now a woman watching me pee (I just had to put my two cents in). What straight male do you know that's okay with that? I also forsee unimaginable complications that would arise from this. The hard part about this is, where do we draw the line on privacy? Are we going to physically check everyone before they enter into the restroom? Are we going to have to require everyone to carry birth certificates to prove their gender when out in public? Are we really going to spend dollars upon dollars to build co-gender bathrooms in every business, school, and restaurant across America? Seems like a waste of money for a small percentage of the population. This whole debate seems like too much of a hassle to fight it. And...now I gotta pee.

controversiesopinion
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.