The Swamp logo

Controversial Subjects

Silence Versus Song

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

According to Miranda, you have the right to remain silent. Per cliche', "silence is golden". According to the Bill of Rights, you have "Freedom of Speech". What does that all mean? I begin by sharing what it means to me.

Traditionally speaking, the taboo conversations were Sex, Politics, and Religion. The reason (I believe) these subjects were "taboo" is because they are personal to individuals and when there is a disagreement of thought or opinion, people get upset and it causes "drama" or some kind of unnecessary fight because two opposing sides have clashed and more often then not, they forget to "agree to disagree". Many have evolved and matured enough to know how to "agree to disagree", but some still get so upset and offended that they resort to hate and vengeance. Labelling the controversial subjects "taboo" was a way to possibly avoid such painful displays.

I don't have a problem talking about sex, religion, or politics. However, I am very guarded and careful when talking about these subjects. I have already seen and experienced what playing the Devil's Advocate does and I have already seen and experienced what taking a stand does. I argued vehemently with Vegans about the scientific proof that Omnivores can quote in regards to health matters. Yet they resorted to low blows, name calling, and just being disrespectful so that they could continue to justify their stance and how they poorly treated those with opposing views.

Don't get me wrong. I am guilty of name calling also. I called one of them a "phony b" and I was banned from Facebook for three days. Most of the time, whenever I've gotten in trouble, it was because of exercising my right to freedom of speech. I was free enough to say it, but that doesn't mean that when the time and place are not appropriate, there won't be repercussions or penalties. Don't forget, that if you're on private property and you start spewing out fireworks from your mouth, the owners of the property have the right to remove you. That's where the old soap boxes came from. You want to let out your hate? Take a walk on the sidewalk and let it out. We all own the sidewalk. Besides that, we must be careful where we tread. Just because we have the freedom to open our mouths and say whatever, doesn't mean we own everything that is, nor does it mean we have the right to trample on others freedoms of peace, prosperity, or whatever especially when they specifically own property.

I find that the internet is like the sidewalk. If you are a preacher holding a bible, you can walk the sidewalk and read any verse you want. If you stand on the sidewalk by a Muslim restaurant and start preaching Christian doctrine, the business owner has the right to make you move. Your speech is not welcome in front of his business because his patrons don't like it and won't return there if you persist. I've already witnessed it. I knew a street preacher who was continually arrested for preaching in downtown Tampa. The business owners hated him because they were losing money. He was in and out of jail often. He thought he had freedom of speech and freedom of religion on the sidewalk. I met him in jail when I got arrested for Disorderly Conduct at the airport because I thought I had freedom of speech at the airport. We were both wrong. I did not OWN the airport. He did not own the restaurants downtown. They pay taxes and they have a right to run their businesses as they see fit and to complain when others trample on their rights.

As for sex, there have been a million conversations about it in private rooms, on the soap box, on the internet, and on television. It was labelled taboo, but it seems to me that was a bad joke. There was a time in American history where just saying the word "damn" in a movie was shocking. The past twenty years as we've watched the Simpsons and Family Guy, it seems that sex or any words spoken are not really shocking anymore. We just laugh and tolerate it because we know we are all guilty.

I prefer touching on taboo conversations over the internet rather than in person. I have a big mouth and sometimes I say inappropriate things. I am getting older and I'm tired of saying something that angers another to the point where I have to scram. It's so much easier to state my opinions online and let the chips fall where they fall. You like it, good. You don't like it, move on. That's simple and much more appealing. As easy as changing the channel when you don't like a show on TV.

I am soon to be 50 years old. I keep saying this over and over because it's a bit shocking to me that I've lived this long. I never thought I'd make it this far. People who are older than me might have more experience than me. Some younger might have more experience than me. There are exceptions to the rule, but the general rule of "Respecting Your Elders" is to assume that because they've lived longer than you, they've done something right, and for their wisdom and experience they deserve respect. That doesn't mean they should disrespect the younger. It just means "Age before Beauty". I know I'm spewing off cliches like crazy, but please understand what I'm trying to say. Some women don't like a man to hold the door for them because they feel it makes them seem "weak". I know I'm not weak, and I like the door being held for me. It's a courtesy and I'm grateful. I respect my elders, until they disrespect me. I don't wait for them to respect me first. They've already earned it.

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.