The Swamp logo

Being an Undocumented Immigrant is harder than most think.

Yes, I know you can easily sit there and say, get legal, or they should have never come over illegally. Well, let me explain a few factors.

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Being an Undocumented Immigrant is harder than most think.
Photo by Nitish Meena on Unsplash

I am not saying anyone's views are wrong making this post. I know we all have our opinions on this matter and all I ask is to keep it respectful, please. 

I understand firsthand how hard it is for an undocumented immigrant to be here in the United States. It is not easy to become legal from the country they came from or even here in the United States. If you do not have a lot of money, you're not getting legal. That is the honest truth for those of you who say… "just get legal." 

It costs thousands of dollars, well up in the 5–7 thousand dollar range, depending on how much your lawyer wants to take out of your pocket. Most lawyers know that there are not many immigration lawyers in small towns and if there is at least one, they are the only ones getting the business and they will bring them prices as high as they can. Even during that process they can take your money and pretend to be doing their job, but actually doing nothing. We have been through that already. Waited a whole year after already paying a couple thousand, not seeing one paper in a year. Other lawyers further away were doing things in under 6 months for their clients. So money was lost there.

We have been married for 14 years and thanks to people messing that up years ago, married does not mean they are legal. He has done his part to pay taxes, learn English, and learn our history. Now money is our only issue. Then let's get into him coming before he was legal. 

Now I am not saying that anyone is right for crossing illegally, however. I understand why they do it. If you think we are all struggling with inflation can you imagine how they live? They make maybe a quarter of what the lowest people get paid here in the US, and the prices to buy food, clothing, and anything boughten are the same prices here. For example, We get paid 20 dollars for a job. That is on the high end yes. They would get paid if lucky 5 dollars for that same job. Then going to buy food that we get for our home for the week and spend 100 dollars, do you think they can spend the same amount on food and still have enough to support their family? So some that come over illegally can't wait years to become legal or get a work visa. They are struggling way too much as it is. 

Most people did not ask for the hand that was dealt to them. They will do whatever it takes to take care of their family even if that is crossing illegally. When they get here, they can not get a nice cushy office job like any of us. That requires legal documents. So most are only able to work on farms, or factories until their places get raided by ICE. Can't drive to and from work because they won't give you a permit to drive. I do think some states give them a permit but not many. Most have to chance it and drive to and from work or they can't even take care of themselves let alone their families back home. 

Hope this can give you a little bit more understanding of immigrants and why they come here for a better life. One last thing I want to mention with a little story.

One night here in my state it had to be well below -10 Fahrenheit. (-23 celsius) Roads were slippery. We do not have street lamps on any of our back country roads, so as you could imagine it was very dark out. I do not know the full circumstances like if a deer jumped out, they just skidded off the road from an ice patch. This car went into the ditch and could not get back out. Two cars were traveling down the road ( I could not tell you how long they were out there waiting in the cold) the first car saw two Mexicans come up from the car and they sped off. The second car at least had a heart and did not care who they were and picked them up to take them where they needed to go. 

I knew the lady in the car that had picked up these two guys. She was telling me this story and then explaining to me how she got very mad at the guys. It was obvious they did not know much English when they had first picked them up and when they got in the car and warmed up they talked among themselves in Spanish, not being able to speak to the drivers. She said she got mad about that. I asked why. She said how does she know if they are talking about her or her husband in a bad way.

Well, it made me a little upset that she could think like that. I kept my cool and explained to her. They finally felt comfortable, warmed up from the cold and they could not communicate with the people that picked them up. I also said that I can assure you they were not talking about the people who just saved them from the freezing cold. Of course, I did not know who they picked up so I couldn't be 100% on that. But they are just like you or me and I really doubt they gonna start saying something bad about the people who just helped them. 

I know the surge of immigrants that have been coming in, I do not know what they are fleeing from but if it is just bad lives and now not a racist president I do not agree at least not the bus loads that have been coming in. I even mentioned that to my husband. I can't say much on that though I do not know the whole story. I just know what I have learned from my husband and his family speaking to them in Mexico and how they struggle daily. So only can speak on what I know. Feel free to leave your opinion just not a political war, no disrespecting anyone's opinions, please. 

©Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz 2022

financehistoryopiniontravelhow to
Like

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.