Fiction logo

The scary thing we saw while fishing at night

We went out on the boat to try some night fishing. We wanted to see if we could catch more fish at night Than during the day. However, what we had seen nearly scared us to death.

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The scary thing we saw while fishing at night
Photo by Chen YiChun on Unsplash

We loaded up the truck with our poles just before dusk. Had grabbed all the bait we thing would do the job and headed out to the lake. Our local lake is only a five-minute drive from our house. Then backed up to the water and inched the boat and trailer into the water. I had never gone night fishing before, and there was no dock at this lake. I had to go in the dark water to guide the boat off the trailer into the water. Even though the sun had not set, the water was not clear by the bright sun overhead. It was dark and cold. 

We get in the boat and turn on the lights on our boat. Only the lights in the front and sides so we were seen in the water by others, not so the fish get scared with it being so bright. We had the whole lake to ourselves. So we did not have to worry about the lights. We still followed regulations.

dolphin jumping out the water

All of a sudden, a fish jumped close to the boat. We baited up and cast in the water. Eager to find out what we could catch. After a few minutes of fishing, we heard another jump near the boat. This time the splash it made was much bigger than the first. This kept going on and on with the jumping, and the splash seemed much bigger than the first jump we heard. We could tell it was by this point it did not sound like a small fish. Could be a big fish but they do not jump over and over like that next to a boat. I had not been night fishing but during the day this is not how fish act. Will we catch bigger and more fish at night, if this is how they act? 

I decided to pull out my headlamp for a little light and hopefully I could see what was jumping by the boat. I turned on the light put the light all around the boat and did not see anything. Nothing jumped. Did it not like the light? So I shut it off and waited until I heard a noise. Soon as I heard movement in the water I turned on the light to just see a huge tail entering the water. This tail was bigger than any fish I had ever seen before. Was no normal fishtail even for a big fish there was no match.

Took a while before it would come up above the water again. We patiently wait and fished. We were unable to get even a nibble on our bait. Was this big fish, a monster scaring the other fish away? We waited for what seemed like an hour with nothing jumping or nothing nibbling. So just as we were about to move our boat and thank goodness I had my headlamp on so I could put my pole away and get ready to go home. 

It jumped right in front of our boat. This was a monster alright. This was the biggest bass I had ever seen. I see why we were not getting any nibble if he was swimming below us. He scared the other fish away. We decided this monster will have to wait for us to come back and catch him another fishing day. We were done for the night. We pray no one else catches it before we come back.

Do you like to go fishing? Have you caught yourself a monster? I am still waiting for my big catch. Fishing is a great cheap hobby, if you are bored give it a try. Borrow a pole if you can not afford one. Buy some worms for a couple of dollars and your set. Put that worm on the hook and cast it in the water and hope you catch your monster.

AdventurefamilyShort StoryMystery
Like

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.