The Swamp logo

America the land of the Oppressed?

Think again

By Jillian WeissPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am a millennial living in modern day America. Where many of my young peers are liberal. According to them, I should have a fierce hatred for my country, I am oppressed because of my womanhood. No, that is not where the calamity lies. The calamity comes when someone like me, questions her fellow Americans who believe that America was never great. I believe we can still be happy in this country if we so chose to be. Do not let one voice speak for all, the liberals and the media would have the American people believe, that their policies and own agenda, is this country's only hope for a better future. When in truth all they care about is how your votes will benefit said agenda. These things are able to happen, however, because we live in freedom not oppression.

What liberals would want you to forget is that this land, was bought and paid for by the blood of our own people. Citizens have the freedom to hate our country, or the freedom to adore it, because of blood that has been shed and still is being shed every passing moment. Freedom always comes with a price. 242 years ago this country was founded. We became one nation under God, yes under God and I say this without fear.

Ronald Reagan once said, "If we forget that we are one nation under God, we will be a nation gone under."

If there are men out fighting to protect our freedom, then who is it that keeps us breathing each and every day?

And in this country, we have the freedom to believe in a God, or chose not to. America the land of the Free, not the oppressed. It will continue to be free if there those whom are still willing to fight. God bless America! God bless our Soldiers!

opinion
Like

About the Creator

Jillian Weiss

Hi, my name is Jillian Weiss and I am 21 years old. I am a proud patriot, I love America and enjoy stating my opinion about current events. I've been writing ever since I could pick up a pencil. Join me in this walk of writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.