Serve logo

Hurt people...

...hurt people.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
1
P/c (photo credit): Franck Barske (aka Barskefranck) of France's Epouville; via the completely free site/app Pixabay. Please show him & them some Love. Thanks in advance.

8OCT2023; 2340, SUN– Maryland, USA

First things first: I do NOT; I say again, unequivocally and for the record; I will NEVER condone wanton violence. Please, for the Love of all that is good and sacred, do not misconstrue/misunderstand my title; nor the subtitle of this piece.

Now that housekeeping is out of the way, welcome to my Ted talk. Today we're finna discuss how Rome– er, America's inherently masochistic state of being has led me to an essentially indissoluble realization: I might feasibly be destined for prize fighting.

Am I arguably, "past my prime"? Does an American Love bread and circuses– er, hotdogs and amusement parks?

I'm not saying that there's no time nor place for such; debatably. Conversely, some would say that the only times/places for the aforementioned is during the U.S. Army's Ranger school (don't Google the Dog-X aspect of Ranger training, whatever you do...); and/or after a deployment to an "actual factual" combat zone, with your children in tow.

Speaking of my fellow American Warriors; Rome; and the public's obsession with anything even remotely distracting... Seriously tho, I'm almost certain that my life has been a near culmination of lead up to my "questionable" decision to get into the Gladiator/octagon life.

Fun fact: My very first platoon in the Big Army (after Basic [aka Bootcamp]) was called The Gladiators. Also, one of my all time favorite classic films may or may not star Russell Crowe.

I'm referring to the 2000 classic by Ridley Scott; for you young folks who have no idea who Crowe is ("Gladiator" [which gave us the infamous, "Are you not entertained?!"]). Speaking of which tho, when I left "Attack" Company, and became a Recon Grunt, I learned a lot more about my former platoon members than I ever figured to fathom.

For example, our fearless and dedicated leader of The Gladiators (Til Valhalla to the Hoss and the rest of The Fallen) once caught a hot one thru the thigh; and took it like a 3x OG (Triple Original Gangster [aka head honcho of a gang]).

Even more impressive, at least IMHO, he signed a Dec-Order (Declination Order). In a sense, stating that he understood if he refused to abandon his fellow Grunts that he trained for a year and a half, he'd no longer be eligible for re-upping (re-enlistment); promotion; or anything other than an immediate honorable discharge after his Tour of Duty to the Middle East with his Brothers.

Of course, The Teacher from about two thousand years ago said something to the effect of, "No greater Love than this, that a man would lay down his life for his Brethren." Now, the question of how to reciprocate that unquestionable Love without making the Ultimate Sacrifice; or going early to Valhalla myself (Heaven forbid).

Why not do the next closest potentiality and pour out some more of my own blood, sweat, and tears for my fellow Battle Buddies; so as to donate a decent portion of my earnings to the direly ailing U.S. Vets? Again, I know that I'm old as dirt; especially for this particular sport.

Conversely, we have people who are running the country with adult diapers on; if you fine phenomenal folks will pardon my disparagement. I just really hate the way my country is being ran; almost as much as I Love the Land of the Free, Home of the Brave.

Why do us Bravest and brightest deserve to live on the streets in squalor after the fighting for the sake of Freedom in some cases; as well as self-preservation in many others? Has literally no one ever heard of economic conscription?

No matter. That all is coming to an abrupt end; starting this very week.

I'm going to have some "before" pics taken of me tomorrow afternoon; join a fitness challenge; and use the majority of my winnings to prepare for my first pro fight. In case anyone is wondering, I'm fully intending for this fight to go down by the 20th of 2025's April.

That day'll make exactly 15 years since I turned fully legal (21 years old) whilst Down Range. Heads up to my future competition tho: My best friend on the ramp up to going In Theatre was a 34 year old former White Nationalist; who is one of the many people who I was fortunate to do "hand to hand [combat]" training with.

Suffice it to say; that, "Old man strength", is indisputably, "a thing." Especially when you have nothing to lose...

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

fact or fictionveteranpop culturefitnessCONTENT WARNINGcareerarmy
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)7 months ago

    ♥️💯📝✌️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.