Vocal Creator Chat: 5/2/23

A place to connect and discuss all things Vocal.

By Vocal Creator ChatPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
41

Have questions about creating stories, growing your audience, and getting rewarded on Vocal? The Vocal community and team are here to help answer your questions and feedback together.

Every Tuesday at 12 PM ET, we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour.

Please follow Vocal’s Community Guidelines and don’t spam your own profile or stories in the thread. We encourage the community to report users or comments that break these guidelines.

Some updates and reminders from the Vocal team:

  • Congratulations to the winners of the Tautogram Challenge. Please be on the lookout for new Challenge announcements later today.
  • We recently published a number of resources to help inspire creativity, including:

400 Creative Writing Prompts to Spark Your Imagination on Vocal

150 Poetry Prompts to Unleash Your Inner Bard

Compelling Story Starters: 120 First Line Prompts to Capture Your Reader's Attention

...and more.

Got questions about Vocal or feedback about what’s new? Leave a comment in this thread to join the Vocal Creator Chat.

Also, be sure to join our Raise Your Voice Threads every Thursday at 12PM ET to champion inspiring stories and outstanding creators on Vocal. Save it to your calendar so you don’t miss it.

creator chat
41

About the Creator

Vocal Creator Chat

Monthly on Tuesday @ 12PM ET, we we'll assemble the Vocal community, as well as our Creator Experience and Product teams, in a thread to respond to creator inquiries for one hour on Vocal. Subscribe now

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (42)

Sign in to comment
  • Anthony osungubo 11 months ago

    Am a writer but just new in vocal media but I don't have money to upgrade to vocal + I just need help in other to gain financial freedom from vocal I promise to pay when I start earning pls vocal creator and other team members

  • Could we have a way to track our tickets and replies? I accidentally deleted a very important reply from Vocal on the 18th of April re my resource piece. I have raised a ticket about this but have received no response. Thank you

  • Gabriella Gold11 months ago

    As an African who is a new member to the community, I have tried linking stripe to my vocal but it seems like they (stripe) do not have an option for people who live in Africa. Therefore I can not create an account with stripe. I would really appreciate it if something can be done about that.

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Is there any chance of adding an Edit function to comments?

  • Dwayne Mark 11 months ago

    Hello, whenever I'm posting writing my story on here, the word count doesn't read and therefore my story is always rejected. Can you please be of help ?

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Hi all- I wondered about the 'Please be on the lookout for new Challenge announcements later today.' Just got the Live on Vocal and there wasn't a new Challenge.

  • aly suhail11 months ago

    I feel like many writers here are left out no matter what they write or how much they write their stories or article get a view or two and it's lying dusted on back shelves and no one reads them again.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    I'm probably too late, but any chance of a Writing community? For writing about writing 😁 I would be in there all the danged time.

  • Sarah Wilcox11 months ago

    Making sure I catch this next week cause I need some ideas on growing my audience. Really I just write to survive mentally.

  • Chloe Gilholy11 months ago

    Spacing in poetry is an issue. No matter how many times I try to separate the stanzas they all come in one big clump. Have to use pics or symbols to set them up.

  • Luna Delvaux11 months ago

    How do I go about getting more engagement in my posts? I have shared to social media many times but my reading count remains very low for the number of clicks I have received, what counts as a 'read'?

  • Thavien Yliaster11 months ago

    Did Vocal always have 22 employees? I thought that in 2022 that Vocal had more employees than what they currently do now (as of, and even before today, 2nd May 2023 Tuesday). Also, why did Your company's ticker symbol change from CRTD to VOCL?

  • Alexander McEvoy11 months ago

    When writing directly on vocal, I've noticed that the page doesn't autoscroll meaning that every time I start a new paragraph, I have to manually scroll down. This really puts the breaks on my writing, are there plans to fix this issue?

  • Zuleika Boekhoudt11 months ago

    How are reads counted? I've been posting for a while and sharing posts on social media. Through their analytics, I see that people have clicked on the link. But the read count remains 0. Also, what's Vocal doing to drive traffic to the site? Comparing the option of staying on Vocal or building my own site, the latter seems more attractive every day that passes if you're getting 0 reads for your articles.

  • Kayla Lindley11 months ago

    Is vocal looking at better editing options on the platform for catching grammar and stuff like that within vocal? So it's more a all in one situation?

  • Jay Kantor11 months ago

    Dear All 'Boomer Gen Graduates' ~ I'm Jay Kantor and so thankful for your remarks. I hear from readers all over the country through Senior Newsletters, etc. The Sisterhood from a Jewish Community center said, "Jay, we love your stories, are you dating?" Come-on, that's funny!  Such lonely rest-home 'Seniors' and others say that I've inspired them to write 'favorite' memories of their own; we all have them. That's so lovely to hear!  And, who better than the former note passers to interact with one another with our own 'Schtick!' I'm just a retired professional turned "Goof-Writer" nothing more. I know that I'm way out of the popular demographics; I'm fine with it. I've just written "Wheelchair Etiquette ~The view looking UP" - but, no one at Vocal is reading it - I get that.  I'm a 'Noodge' ~ Thank you all ~ With 'Oodles' of Respect Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Authors Community -

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Does vocal plan to open a Mastodon instance? Mastodon is a wonderful way to connect with people. With Twitter going down the drain, it's time to move to better greener pastures. Also, as requested many times, you need to offer better formatting options. It's time poets were able to play with the white space on the page. ;-)

  • How long does withdrawal take? I requested one on April 20th and it still hasn't come through...

  • A. Lenae11 months ago

    Forgive me if this is covered somewhere that I haven't yet discovered, but I'm just curious: is there a maximum number of times a piece can be entered into a challenge? When selecting an already-published poem to submit to a challenge, I have had some that didn't appear as options. Thanks for all you do!

  • Z-A-B Rider11 months ago

    I saw you ad that you need a translator for your blog to do translation from English to Dutch can I now how to apply

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    When and if we want to purge stories from Vocal by request do we have to make a individual request for each one or can we provide a multiple list. I have about ten that I’d like to disappear.

  • R. J. Rani11 months ago

    Hi Vocal team, are there any plans to have audio/video chats (similar to creator chat and raise your voice) that are more interactive and real-time?

  • Mohammed Darasi11 months ago

    Apologies if this was asked already (just finished work and got home so didn't get the chance to see all of the messages 😅).. the quick edit feature is very useful and had been very helpful because I have no patience.. I write, give it a quick once over and the publish it, and then of course discover stupid mistakes here and there... My question is: is it possible to extend the quick edit feature to include the subtitle of the story? I just don't want to bother the vocal team by email for small corrections like that

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Hi Vocal, Cindy here. I like the prompts that were listed last week in Resources. How about a fiction challenge with a multiple choice challenge like choose one of these prompts or first lines for a story with maybe a list of 5. Also, would there ever be a chance of publishing a story or article in more than one community. I feel like the challenge for the Tall Tails could have been published in both Petlife and Fiction to gain traction with an audience. Thanks 😊

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Hi there. I took a quick glance at Creatd's 10-K Annual Report for 2022. While I'm not proficient in reading or interpreting Financial Statements I was wondering if there will be an opportunity to learn more from the Creatd team. Will there be an Investor's Presentation or Earnings Call happening this quarter? I checked the company's website but I do not see anything recent. I am particularly interested in the financial health of the company and how that may effect the creators of the Vocal platform. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.