Psyche logo

You Don't Have to Be Pretty if You're Already Beautiful!

Do you worry about your outer appearance when you should be focused internally?

By Justiss GoodePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was a teenager, I was very self-conscious about my appearance, having been the butt of many of my own mother’s jokes. For this reason, I had low self esteem in this particular area, although I made up for it when it came to my brain.

Now that I’m older, I realize the reason why I always worked so hard on my grades and made sure I was at the top of my classes. Somewhere, in the back of my mind, my “smarts” helped to make up for what I viewed as being unattractive on the outside.

I’ll never forget the first time I heard the song I’m about to share the lyrics to. The Dramatics were an R&B group that I was always fond of, so naturally, I had to have their 1971 “Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get” album.

I bought the album for some of the more popular hit titles, including: In the Rain, Get Up Get Down, and Hot Pants in the Summertime.

But when I heard the song, and learned the lyrics to “Beautiful People,” I grew to love it, and it eventually helped me learn to start loving myself.

The words spoke directly to me, and it wasn’t long before I started believing what they said. They were talking to me, and telling me it was okay to be myself, no matter what I looked like on the outside, so pretty soon, I started heeding that advice.

Even though I was barely dating age, and had no one in my life to sing those words about me, I sang them to myself. Eventually, I became confident that one day, there would be someone who would say those things to me and actually mean them.

Notice how beautiful the lyrics are, and imagine a young teenage mind taking them to heart.

LYRICS:

You don’t have to be pretty

Just to be beautiful people

You don’t have to be a star

Just as you are

Baby, you’re beautiful people

Just be yourself and no one else

I love you for who you are

You may not get second looks

But in my book, my darling, you’re a star

Oh, and I will always love you

And want you by my side, my love for you

My darling, is river deep and mountain high

Inner Beauty Counts

Inner beauty is something that people sometimes take for granted, but believe me, inner beauty really counts.

We've all heard the old saying: "Pretty is as pretty does". Charm and personality are the kind of assets that beautiful people possess, and without them, it doesn't matter how pretty you are.

Just like pretty is as pretty does, the same holds true for "ugly". So called "ugly" people can be some of the sweetest and kindest people around, regardless of how their outer appearance is judged by others.

When people really get to know a beautiful person, and come to see them for their actions, words and deeds, then the outer appearance becomes secondary, if not obsolete altogether.

Are You a Beautiful Person? Is that a phrase that you can see people using about you when you're not around?

When you stop and consider the question, don't think about your slightly balding hair or whether your eyes are too far apart.

True beauty is not about your height, weight, or outward physical appearance. True beauty is about the way you treat other people and also about the image you have of yourself.

Do you think more of yourself than what is necessary, and other people realize it? This may be a hard question to ask yourself, and the answer may even be harder to hear.

But this is exactly the kind of self analysis that can help you understand your strengths as well as your weaknesses. Think about the kind of person you want to be viewed as, in the eyes of those you love and respect.

Learn to exude charm and personality in all you say and do. Then, you can answer yes, I too am a beautiful person.

******************************************************

FOLLOW JUSTISS GOODE FOR MORE ADVICE, SELF HELP, AND HUMAN BEHAVIOR STORIES. HELP IMPROVE YOUR BODY & YOUR PSYCHE - Enjoy a little bit of Justiss every day :-)

advice
Like

About the Creator

Justiss Goode

Old crazy lady who loves to laugh and make others smile, but most of all, a prolific writer who lives to write! Nothing like a little bit of Justiss every day :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.