Psyche logo

You Can Work Through Depression and Anxiety

Working Through Depression and Anxiety Is Not Easy, But It Is Possible Even Though It Might Not Feel Like It.

By Amanda ReisingerPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

It started with ignoring my problems because I thought if I ignored them, and act strong, then the problems would go away. Then, I bottled up my emotions, and my problems got to the point where it was affecting my life. I was bottling things up so much that I did not know how to release my emotions and tell people my problems. I felt like a different person to the point where I thought I would feel like this forever. The dark cloud that was hovering over my head was following me, my life was on stand still, and my problems were out of control. I felt myself slipping away, and my boyfriend looked at me and said, “You need help.” I was scared to death to reach out for help because I knew that would mean I would have to admit that I have a problem. It is not easy for people to admit, “hey, I have a problem with depression.”

I do not have insurance, so I was trying to find something online I could do; that is how I came across Cerebral. I was skeptical about Cerebral because it is an online therapy, but I knew I needed help, so I had to try it. Cerebral starts off where you complete an assessment of your depression and anxiety. My depression and anxiety showed as severe. After that, I had to schedule a phone call with my provider where she would talk about my symptoms then if needed, she would prescribe me meds. Then, I scheduled an appointment with my care counselor to work on techniques on how to ease depression and anxiety. Once a month you can talk to your provider and care counselor. My provider was kind, gentle, and she made me feel like everything will be okay, we will work on this together. I told my provider, “I just want my life back.” The doctor prescribed me a medication, and I felt relieved because that was a big step for me reaching out for help. My care counselor appointment was scheduled a week after my provider appointment. We talked about a lot in the 30 min session, and she gave me a lot of resources and techniques to try to help with my daily life.

We need to stop the stigma that just because you do not see scars or bruises on people, it does not mean they are not hurting. Please reach out for help if you feel like you need it. You are not “weak” for asking for help. You are strong, amazing, and courageous for reaching out for help and getting your life back. Things can get better, and you can have an amazing life. If you need a program to try, please try Cerebral. I am working through my depression and anxiety and trying to get on the right track. It takes awhile to get on the right meds and to get yourself where you want to be, but it is worth it to work through it and get your life back on track. We can work through depression and anxiety and have that amazing life we deserve.

depression
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.