Psyche logo

Wishing You A Whispery, Romantic Halloween

Should you choose to see

By Ansley MariePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Many people find me strange. Not because I am a girly girl officer but because I see the world through a different view. And this time of year proves my inner child has never left me.

Halloween, my valentines day. The most romantic Holiday and “only” Holiday that matters to me is approaching.

Romantic, you may be thinking. In fact I have never met another soul that sees the Holiday from my view. So perhaps I may persuade you.

In life today we are taught to think about fear and we are also conditioned to follow the crowd. Don’t touch that, it could be bad for us. Don’t talk to strangers; they could be mass murderers. Or my favorite “Behave or I’m going to tell that officer over there to take you away.” (On a side note, please do not tell your kids this, in the case of a real emergency they will not approach an officer because this saying turns officers from good to scary.)

All these little things add up to a steamy bowl of spaghetti noodles that shape our brain. But don’t get me wrong, our brain has one function and one function only, to protect us from danger. You must listen to that fear but you must also understand there is more to it and learning to be uncomfortable is how we grow as better humans.

So hear me out on my romantically driven Holiday and reshape how you see the goblins and ghouls that enter our nightmares on October 31.

Remember when you were a kid watching the Adams Family for the first time? Or when you read the famous book by Mary Shelley, Frankenstein? Did you notice the real tail behind the story? It’s not the scientist or the scars on his face, it's that we are all searching for that one special person that just gets us. We have a lot of these telltale characters built within us. Some of us grow to adore them and some of us fear them. It’s all in how you choose to view it.

I can hear it now the ban pipes aggressively playing in the background as Mortesha Adams enters the room where Gomez awaits with a single black rose for her. My heart warms with joy. Not because I am a hopeless romantic sap though in this case I must be one because the butterflies and hearts are floating around my goofy expression as I write this. But because you take two “freaks” most would call them, that usually wouldn’t be accepted in society. And to be fair wouldn’t care to function well within those restraints anyhow. Two strangely crafted souls that couldn't possibly be happy with anyone else somehow found each other amongst the 7.85 billion people in this world.

My point is the way we choose to see things is how we shape our everyday lives. I have spoken to many people who believe that Halloween is the worst Holiday in existence. That it's only filled with demons roaming the earth from the devil himself. But just as this world is a cold and desolate place if we choose to see it that way, so is Halloween.

I urge you to take a few minutes this year to see the love around you instead of the fear. Pay attention to Nightmare Before Christmas, the love story in Hocus Pocus, or the strong desperation for Frankenstein to have his one special companion. And take that one step further, what else in your life do you think you could view differently? And how would it affect your well being? Attitude? Relationships? Health?

Everything starts with a small notion of awareness. Let Halloween be the lead and follow the end of the year with a new view.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Ansley Marie

My name is Ansley. For many years I have been in professions that give me a unique perspective on life, death, dying. This is a small niche these are topics I believe should be more out in the open. Constructive criticism is welcomed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.