Psyche logo

Why my Sibling was Diagnosed with the Condition Known as Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy (MSP)

Growing up without a nurturing mother

By Alexandria HypatiaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

The definition of Munchausen syndrome by proxy (MSP); a disorder in which the caretaker of a child either makes up fake symptoms or causes real symptoms to make it appear as though the child is injured or ill. The term “by proxy” means “through a substitute.” Though MSP is primarily a mental illness, it is also considered a form of child abuse.

Growing up with a younger sister who was a pathological liar was difficult. Being three years older than she was, my mother made her my responsibility from the time I was 9 or 10 years old. She was born with health problems due to the fact my mother had German Measles (Rubella) during her pregnancy causing My sister to be born deaf.

Most of my childhood I remember my mom shouting front the driver’s seat of the car how much she wished she would have aborted us. I remember it clearly, but I am not sure with my sister because of the 3-year age difference. Basically, my mother was not an affectionate or compassionate one. She ordered us around when we were not being told to stay out of her hair. The belt, wooden spoon off the wall or her hand was her form of punishment.

When I was 15, my mother came home to find me in an ambulance for attempting suicide. I was in a mental institution for about 6 months in another city. During my stay there, it came out that my stepfather had been molesting me. My mother was ordered to remove him from the home, or I would not be allowed back. That deeply affected my sister because though he was not her dad either, she believed he was. They were close I guess, so when he left, she was devastated.

My sister had been diagnosed with being allergic to sugar due to her behavior problems. She had problems in school and once we were hitting our teen years, my moms neglect was showing in all ways possible. We both began running away from home. When my sister was 11 years old, a police officer brought her home after catching her with an over aged man, both naked in his car. When my sister was 12 years-old, she had gotten pregnant. My mother waited until she was 6 months along before forcing her to have an abortion. My sister was not right after that. She thought they had not removed all the baby because she still looked pregnant for so long. She started lying about who had gotten her pregnant. My mom had a new boyfriend at the time. My sister first accused him but then changed her story more than once.

I believe my sisters condition is due to my mothers’ negligence. To starve your child of love, sympathy, empathy, and compassion will have consequences.

My sister went on to have 5 children. 4 of them taken by the state after one of them suffered third degree burns on his testicles because of her not checking the temperature of the water before putting him into the bath. Her other 3 children were in and out of hospitals and according to my sister they were all terminally ill due to one thing or another and were supposably going to die before the age of 5. Child protective services (CPS) came in and took the children and now they are all healthy vibrant children living with other family members. She was required to go and get a medical evaluation done and was diagnosed with Munchausen syndrome by proxy.

She got pregnant again and they came and took the baby when he only 2 days old. When my mother moved out of state after adopting my sister’s oldest son, it was not long before my sister followed. She got pregnant again and is now raising her daughter who is 7 now. Her Facebook pages are full of her daughter and hospital visits. Right now, as I write this, she has her daughter is on a feeding tube because she will not eat, and my sister has her going to the doctor for pelvic floor exercises. What normal child does that? And guess what? my mother stands by her and says it’s all legit. That I need to mind my own business and its not my life to worry about. That is when it clicked that my mother is why these children will never know a normal life. From the moment they were born, their futures were limited.

A condition is a result of repetitive actions. It is something that is created. We are not born with conditions. They are labels for behaviors that have been taught or learned unconsciously.

When will we require a test to ensure that women are mentally capable of raising children?

personality disorder
1

About the Creator

Alexandria Hypatia

A philosopher and Libra to the fullest. I have always enjoyed writing as well as reading. My hope is that someday, at least one of my written thoughts will resonate and spark discussions of acceptance and forgiveness for humanity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.