Psyche logo

What To Do When The World Feels Like Too Much

My 4 favorite things to help me de-stress when I’m feeling overwhelmed

By Allison Schafer Published 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
What To Do When The World Feels Like Too Much
Photo by Erriko Boccia on Unsplash

It’s fairly common for people to get overly stressed, to feel like it’s one thing after the other and we are just going through the motions. I know I have days, even weeks that feel like this. If it’s not work that’s stressing me out, it’s a personal issue either involving mental health or something involving a friend, family member, or partner.

It’s human nature to feel stressed, to feel like everyday things just keep piling on. Sometimes getting out of this can be difficult.

So, I am going to share what I do when I’m feeling stressed and need to clear my head. Hopefully you’ll find some of these suggestions helpful or are able to pick up a new habit that might help you in your daily life!

1. Read A Book

This might not be for everyone since I know a lot of people don’t have the time to sit down and read a book, but I’m assuming since we’re all writers here, that reading kind of comes with the territory, at least it does for me.

This is one of my main go-to’s when I’m feeling really stressed out because books are their own form of time machines or portals to alternate dimensions. Books are the closest thing I can get to escaping my life and delving head first into another.

For me, it’s rich fantasy worlds that capture my attention, full of problems I will never have to face and brave heroines I can look up to. Even though I live a completely different life from them, I can find meaning and realtion to my struggles with their own.

When I’m stressed and need to get out of my head for a while, I go straight to one of my favorite books or I’ll take myself to the bookstore and buy something new. It helps me feel good and brings my stress level down immensely.

2. Watch a Movie/TV Show

I believe, putting on something light hearted or funny can greatly change a person’s mood. I think, as we get older, we are more drawn to the worlds of others because we seek to be understood through characters on a screen or we are looking for a distraction from our busy, stress filled lives.

I love a good TV show or film almost as much as I love a good book. Since TV is a little more accessable than a book, sometimes I’ll turn to the screen rather than the written page. If I’m feeling down and need to laugh, I know the exact comedy show that will immedietly put me in a better mood. Or if I wish to escape into a new world, I have my go to films and shows that I know will distract me and take me to a new place.

These are simple joys, ones that are so important when stressed out. As human beings, we like to think we can handle anything. The reality is, we are ONLY human and we need space to think, to reflect, and take a break from our constantly running minds.

Putting on a good film or TV show can offer that necessary break and allow us to come back to reality when we are ready, having had the time to relax a little. Not to mention, I’ve learned a lot from watching TV shows and movies. Sometimes the answer we seek can be found in the characters we watch and love so much.

3. Listening to Music

Have you ever been so consumed with the world around you that you needed to move, to just go somewhere and blast some music and not have to think?

During the beginning of the pandemic, I turned to music for an escape. I would get in my car, with no destination in mind and just drive, letting the music carry me to a place I needed to go.

Words, I think, are the most powerful weapons in the universe. They have the ability to make us laugh, cry, feel joy, experience pain and heartbreak, and sometimes even allow that heavy weight on our shoulders to be lifted.

For me, music offers all of this.

When I’m stressed, I not only seek to relax, but to be understood. It’s comforting when I find an artist who expresses the words I wanted to say but didn’t quite know how. It makes me feel less alone and in turn, allows some of that stress to ebb away.

4. Spend Time With Family and Friends

When we are stressed, I know the basic human response is to bottle it up and not let anyone see. Believe me, I struggle with letting people in too. I never want people to see that I’m stressed out because I don’t want to burden them with my worries. I’m also unsure if they will care. Keeping in mind everyone has their own stressors, I usually don’t want to bother anyone with mine and add to their already heavy load.

But, about a year ago I started letting those walls down around the small group of people who matter to me, which are my family and a few close friends. Those are the people who do care about you and if you’re stressed will want to hear about it.

It’s such a relief to talk about stress and uncertainties with people who you know will give you good, helpful advice. And then will do whatever they can to help you de-stress. Maybe it’s a nice dinner cooked by your mom or maybe your best friend invites you over for baking and a movie.

These healthy interactions are vital to de-stressing and can take that pressure off you and help you face each day, knowing you don’t have to face it alone.

Well, there it is, my four tips to de-stressing. I hope you found this helpful and try some of these out if you’re feeling stressed or anxious. During a pandemic I think a lot of us have been feeling a mix of emotions, but just remember you’re not alone and self-care is extremely important!

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Allison Schafer

Harry Potter/Marvel/Disney enthusiest. Cat lover. World traveler. Book lover. Alway baking. Hopeless Romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.