Psyche logo

What's An EMDR Session Like

Therapy For PTSD

By Rob LeathenPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

What’s it like using EMDR in a therapy session to deal with a problematic incident?

My therapy session starts like every other previous therapy session, with idle chat with my therapist about how my previous week was. The conversation has nothing to do at all with any of my previous incidents I have responded to and not even about the current things we’re working on. Regardless of the topic of conversation I immediately feel at ease and comfortable, a feeling that comes from being in this office with my therapist and at this welcoming judgement free clinic, my safe place. It’s a feeling I look forward to as I travel to my appointment even though I know how my session will end.

We reach that inevitable point in my session where I can no longer consciously ignore why I’m there. In a very comforting tone I hear those dreaded words “let’s revisit that call”. My heart beats faster and the thoughts start swirling in my head like a tornado. I’m very much aware of the tension quickly building in my shoulders and body and those stress wrinkles forming across my forehead. I get that well defined crease and fold right between my eyebrows. I walk over and have a seat in the antique chair beside the old bay windows of this century home turned place of healing. My therapists sits across from me while she hands me the handheld fobs, one for each hand, that vibrate and connected by little wires to the control box in her hands. Without any further instructions I close my eyes and I start to relive my problematic incident from start to end in all its graphic detail.

As I verbally step through the call I immediately become a complete emotional wreck. I feel like I have been transported back in time. I’m flooded with all of the emotions I experienced but buried when I initially responded to that call. I’m crying and then not, uncontrollably sobbing then not as the 1st responder mentality and need for control kicks in and the tears are choked back and stifled, but not for long. I’m shaking then not. I’m angry then sad then shameful back to angry. The emotions coming out are definitely not under my control. Deep breathing, ya thats what I need to do to ground myself so I attempt some deep breathing but my efforts yield no results. Here comes the uncontrollable tears again. I have no idea why I’m experience certain emotions and not others as I stall and stumble over my words and dread continuing on but my therapist compassionately encourages me to continue all while actively listening for certain words and phrases and closely watching my physical reactions.

All of the large muscles in my body, my legs and arms are tense and rock hard almost like they have turned to stone and yet I can not consciously relax them. My therapist encourages me to take some more long slow deep breaths trying to bring my distress level back down. She asks about something I said or she provides a suggestion about something negative I said. Those fobs in my clenched fists are vibrating. I try to figure out if the intensity and frequency mean anything but my mind is too preoccupied. I have figured out after many EMDR sessions that those vibrating fobs are bi-laterally stimulating my brain at an intensity and frequency chosen by my therapist. This helps my brain process the emotions, feelings, thoughts and suggestions and that this is the end of the first round.

My entire body is trembling by now as we start another round repeating the story or following up on something I previously said or exploring a tangent from the original storyline of the call based on an emotion or memory that came to light during the first round. Again my therapist expertly monitors and manages my distress level which by now I have no control over and again uses the vibrating fobs selecting the intensity and frequency to help me process my emotions, feelings, thoughts and suggestions. A few more rounds of this are still in store for me during this therapy session.

After the last round I am completely physically, emotionally and cognitively spent. I’m completely and almost uncontrollably trembling almost like the energy of the traumatic experience stored in my body over the years is slowly leaving. I’m keenly aware that my anxiety level is through the roof almost as if my fight/flight response is in extreme overdrive. It is. I look out through those old century windows and struggle to continue on with my deep breathing exercise and my various grounding techniques all to remind myself that I’m actually in 2020 and not actually back in 1998, the year of the call. I’m unbelievably happy, almost ecstatic that this round of EMDR is done. My therapists calming and compassionate voice Is so comforting.

I absolutely hate EMDR sessions, I hate how they make me feel, I hate that once again I bawled my eyes out in front of my therapist and I hate that the next couple of days may be particularly rough for me but I absolutely know that you must feel the pain to be able to properly work through it and process it. I also know that when this entire process is repeated during my next session that the initial starting distress level will be less.

ptsd
Like

About the Creator

Rob Leathen

As part of my PTSD/MDD rcovery I write. I write about all things PTSD related in an effort to help educate others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.