Psyche logo

What If Silence Is The Voice That Helps You Know What To Do Next?

There Is A Lost Art To Silence

By Nancy BPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
What If Silence Is The Voice That Helps You Know What To Do Next?
Photo by Daniele Levis Pelusi on Unsplash

For the mass majority, silence has only become connected to meditation. But can silence be that voice that guides and redirects? I think so. Even if its short spans of silence. The Voice can guide, redirect, and remind you that you are loved and valued. When you know you are loved, you listen to your heart and know what you need to do next.

When I was in seminary, I had to take a class, Spiritual Leadership. In that class, we were encouraged to let our life and experiences show us where we were called. One of the exercises we practiced was to meet regularly with two or three other people. In our meetings, each person would share what was going on in their week.

After the person was done sharing, we would pause in silence for 90 seconds or 2 minutes. In the pause, I would ask the Holy Spirit, “What would You like me to say to my friend?” Sometimes I am given an image, sometimes a word, sometimes a thought. Whatever is given to me, I share, trusting that the Holy Spirit is guiding my thoughts. It isn’t my place to interpret. It is up to the person receiving it to go to God and ask what all that means.

After a few weeks, one of the ladies mentioned that God gives me such interesting visions. I agree. As a creative person, I think I am often more imaginative than others. I’m ok with that. It’s how God built me.

By the way, I graduated in 2017 and I still meet regularly with these women. What was an exercise in a class became a life journey for the three of us.

Part of this comes with a daily, consistent time of contemplative prayer. With consistent practice comes depth and more understanding. I admit that I begin my contemplative prayer time with meditation. It’s a way for me to tackle monkey mind before I move into contemplative prayer. This also helps my whole body slow down so that all my senses are relaxed and my whole body can listen.

“Go deeply into the urge to be silent and not the mental interference of how, where and when. If you follow silence to its source you can be taken by it in a moment.” ― Jean Klein, Who Am I?: The Sacred Quest

Contemplative prayer is a space of quiet where you just sit in the presence of God. I refer to this time as sitting with the Tribe of Three (Father, Son, Holy Spirit). Sometimes, God addresses a pressing need in my heart. Sometimes God reminds me I am loved. Sometimes God motivates me to do something brave. Sometimes God tells this overachiever to sit down and rest. Yup.

Are you wondering how to do this? Imagine you’re sitting with three close friends. If you can’t come up with three close friends, allow your imagination to conjure up three close friends. What do good friends do when they meet? They catch up, chat, laugh, cry, hug, and maybe eat together.

Your three friends are there to listen to you as you share the events of your day or week. Once you have all shared, imagine there is a pause of silence. Allow the silence to embrace you. Imagine that the silence is holding you with great love. What do your three friends have to say to you? Ask them. I use a short phrase, “What do You say, Lord?”

Don’t be alarmed if you don’t hear anything. It takes time to tune your spiritual ears. Keep coming back. Be patient.

Don’t be alarmed if you don’t hear anything. It takes time to tune your spiritual ears. Keep coming back. Be patient.

Steps to Begin a Spiritual Discipline of Silence:

Start small: start with 5 minutes.

Make time for it: set calendar reminders like you would a meeting if you need to.

Use a sacred word: Whatever phrase helps you stay quiet, use that. It can be one word, such as Love. Or, it can be a phrase, such as, “I am present.”

In 2013, I Am Malala was published. She had a wonderful statement,

“When the whole world is silent, even one voice becomes powerful.”

Silence can be the driver for world change. In Malala’s case, she ruminated on the necessary courage in the face of injustice. In 2012, she was shot by Taliban extremists, left to die at the age of 15.

Instead of allowing the fear to bind her, she allowed her courage to take over and continued her advocacy for women’s education in Pakistan. In 2014, she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Although the Taliban’s intention was to silence her, she stood up and used her voice. That painful event gave her the strength to keep going, becoming a role model for many young women.

As you reflect on the story of Malala Yousafzai, how are you inspired?

“Silence isn’t empty. It’s full of answers.” — Unknown

Reflection Questions:

Think of a time when you were silenced. How did you react? What would you do differently?

Is there a way for you to raise your voice over the injustice of your silencing today? Write out a plan for how you can do that.

Encouragement for the Day:

Spend 5 minutes today in silence.

May your soul be refreshed.

selfcare
2

About the Creator

Nancy B

Find my writing in “Mixed Korean: Our Stories," "Together At Last: Stories of Adoption and Reunion in the Age of DNA," Cultural Daily and Women in Theology. Passionate about herbal health and inspiration.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.