Psyche logo

What I Learned From My Out of Body Experience

It was a strange experience that taught me a lot

By Erin MixonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Why I Did It

Back in the day, when I was about 12 years old, all of the kids were doing this challenge. The challenge called for you to press down on the heart of a person in order to stop it (for about 12 seconds).

In hindsight, I know how ridiculous this sounds. But in my 12-year-old mind, it was perfectly logical (smile).

What I Did

So, my sister and several of my friends gathered in my bedroom and proceeded to do the challenge.

My sister pressed on my heart for about 12 seconds while my friends looked on. As my sister pressed down on my chest, I remember everything becoming foggy and hazy.

The next thing I knew, I was hovering above my sister and my friends. It’s like I was floating.

I could see my sister pressing on my chest, my friends hovering around me, and myself standing against the wall.

It was a very strange experience.

Seconds later, I floated back into my body. When I came back into my body, my eyes were closed, my head was tilted to the side, and I was drooling.

Then, I opened my eyes and looked around and tried to figure out what was happening.

I wasn’t really conscious of what was going on at first. My head was hazy and loopy and I was somewhat confused.

While I would hardly classify this situation as a near-death experience, and I’m certainly no expert on such things, I definitely did learn some things from this out-of-body experience.

What I Learned

I learned that when our soul leaves our body, it is a very light and airy experience. I felt peaceful and serene the entire time. I was so relaxed and free. I was floating without a care in the world.

This brings me to the next thing I learned.

We don’t have to worry that our loved ones are worried about us. I honestly don’t believe we need to worry about them either.

As I stared down at my body, I was totally disconnected from what was taking place.

I wasn’t connected to the situation going on below me, and I wasn’t alarmed in any way. I saw what was taking place, but I was not tuned into it or connected to it.

I truly believe that when we leave this world, we’re free from the heaviness and burdens of this world. We move on into a blissfully free state and don’t have those same worries or concerns.

This is not to say that our passed on loved ones don’t love us, but rather that they just aren’t necessarily in tune with us like that anymore.

Another thing I learned is that there is grace and a buffer that shields us at the moment of death. For this reason, we don’t have to fear the moment of death.

Even though I didn’t die, my heart did stop for some seconds. But the experience wasn’t traumatic at all.

I was there in the moment on the ground one minute, and the next minute, I was blissfully floating in the air.

I also had a car accident once (years later) where I crashed into the bumper of another car. The hit was pretty hard. I actually totaled my car.

Just before the moment of impact, everything went totally silent, and once again, I was disconnected from everything around me.

Then everything literally slowed down in slow motion. It was like I was transfixed in a dream world.

And just as before, I felt light, free, and floaty. I felt the impact, but in a way, I didn’t actually feel the impact (if that makes sense).

It’s like there was an automatic buffer and shield of grace that the creator allowed so that I wouldn’t actually feel the impact of the crash.

I was very blessed to have that protection. And by the grace of God, no one else was harmed in the crash either.

Final Thoughts

So as I stated before, I’m no expert.

But I just wanted to share this experience with everyone and to bring you some encouragement and reassurance about what it’s like when our souls leave our bodies.

There is absolutely nothing to fear.

Have you had a similar experience?

I would love to hear about your experiences. Comment down below with the details.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Erin Mixon

I am a blogger and inspirational writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.