Psyche logo

What Anxiety Taught Me About Success

Little did I know, the panic attacks were simply a blessing in disguise.

By Katie CallahanPublished 5 years ago • 2 min read
Like

Most people are chasing things outside of themselves without ever really stopping to smell the roses... let alone stopping to ask themselves what they're actually chasing? 🤔

There are so many things we want to do, be, have, create, accomplish and everyone and their brother is ready to tell you how to get there and what to do to get out there and make it all happen.

But in all of this chasing and figuring things out and trying to force things to work out in your favor, comes a lot of disappointment, frustration, chaos, feeling overwhelmed and we end up with nothing short of confusion... along with distraction after distraction.

But why do we constantly fall short?

Is it because there's no real good advice being given?

Is it because we aren't cut out for a life of glory, success and happiness?

Is it because we're broken? Not good enough? Not cut out for a life we're absolutely madly in love with?

No. No. No.

It's none of these things.

Yet we continue to struggle and blame our lack of abundance on all of these external factors (or should I say external 'excuses')...

Because it's so much easier to blame it on something outside of ourselves.

It's so easy to think that we're broken and need to be fixed.

But you know what ISN'T always easy?

Taking responsibility for our own lives.

Owning up to all of our mistakes.

Digging in to the deepest parts of ourselves and uncovering the emotions and the needs that are actually driving the show.

Forgiving and releasing all of the hurt, the trauma, the wounds...

Healing each and every part of ourselves that was neglected or unconsciously sabotaged.

And ultimately becoming the captain of our own ship.

Sometimes the things that are the most difficult to do are the very things that will set us free.

If I learned one thing from my anxiety...

the panic attacks, the tightness in my chest, the tension in my jaw, the impending doom, the suppression and the angst...

all the worries, the fears, doubts and what ifs..

If I learned ONE thing from all of this, it would have to be the fact that our bodies are more intelligent, more capable, more trustworthy, more aware and more loveable than we give credit for!

Because the anxiety?

It wasn't sabotaging my life or preventing me from having a life that I loved.

No, it was telling me to WAKE UP. To tune in and to listen. The only thing it was preventing was me having a life that I DIDN'T love.

It was sending me a message...

It was telling me to take a look at my life and recognize all the areas that weren't in alignment with who I truly was, to slow down and begin to see and appreciate that there is actually nowhere to go. There is nowhere else you need to be, but right here.

It was telling me that success wasn't something I could ever find 'out there'... success was actually something I could only find inside of MYSELF!

It was telling me to stop chasing and instead start trusting, believing, and ALLOWING.

And ultimately rerouting me to a place where I could finally begin RECEIVING everything I had been asking for all along.

So now it's your turn—

What's the hidden message behind your anxiety?

What's one thing you can do today to stop forcing and instead start trusting and allowing?

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Katie Callahan

Energy Worker, Writer and Holistic Business Consultant, Katie Callahan shows spiritual entrepreneurs how to naturally alleviate their anxiety and embody their full potential so they can manifest their wildest dreams into reality!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.