Psyche logo

War Games

A Trauma Dad Post

By Byron HamelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was 5 or 6, before my mother became abusive, she had a boyfriend who lived with us named KB. KB took us to a drive-in movie one night.

It was the 1983 release of War Games, which means this must have been in Medford Oregon, USA. I remember ducking down under a blanket in the back of our car so that we didn't have to pay so much to get in. I remember this being the most boring movie I'd ever seen. Because of course I was very little, and I'd already seen The Empire Strikes Back with KB, which was and is still one of the best films ever made.

Still, seeing this exceptionally boring film War Games is one of the best childhood memories I have. I remember completely ignoring it and watching the movie I actually wanted to see out the back window of our shitty wood-paneled station wagon; An entirely soundless big screen projection of Superman III.

I had known and liked Richard Pryor from other films I'd seen on rented VCRs at the time, and it was the most amazing thing to see him and Superman in the same film together. I knew the whole story without sound. Everything happening was so obvious. One could even argue the film is better without the dialogue.

Terrible film. Absolutely terrible. Don't get it twisted. I'm not saying it's a good movie.

But it was better than War Games. At least at the time.

Fast forward to 2021. I'd just finished my first drama screenplay about my childhood, and in the off hours I'd been reading Ernest Cline's novel Ready Player One. I decided that it was in my interest to give War Games another chance, because it's referenced quite a lot in RP1, so I checked this or that streaming service and there it was.

I re-watched the thing. And I have to tell you, 43 year old me really likes it. Like, a lot. It's a great little film. I like the dialogue. I like the tension. I like the message. Young Matthew hit everything just right. And honestly, 2021 America really needs to watch this film again, and really take it in.

The only way to win is not to play the game. Some games are just designed that way. Like tic-tac-toe or war. Actual war. Not the card game. Don't want to lose wars? Don't start wars. Pretty simple math.

I mean yes, war is present. We're in it. I'm not an idiot. I get that. And yes, obviously espionage and direct attacks are a clear and present danger. I'm not saying don't defend yourselves. I'm saying don't START wars. Don't INVADE people and threaten them and bully them. Not only does that make you the bad guy, but it also puts you in a situation you may never overcome. And for what really?

There is something to be said for real neutrality or even actual peace efforts in times when you are not under direct external threat.

I'm no expert when it comes to war. I do think it's necessary to have an overpowered defensive force, and I also do believe there is a time to kill. But our efforts in the world, if we truly are the good guys, really should be focused on causing and creating and generating, and maintaining peace.

If you're just "in it to win it", you're not the good guy. You're just the red team or the blue team. Just because it's your country doing the fighting, that doesn't make you righteous and just.

Really think about this. Do not justify evil and unnecessary war just because you are already in the game. Opt out wherever and whenever possible. With war, the only way to win is not to play. Even Sun Tzu backs this up in The Art of War.

Love one another. Find new ways to do so.

family
Like

About the Creator

Byron Hamel

Academy Nicholl Fellow. Screenwriter. Weirdo.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.