Psyche logo

Understanding Neurodiversity: A Dyspraxic Viewpoint

Is there such a thing as 'neurotypical?'

By Amber ForestPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Top Story - September 2021
21
Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/

Introduction

Hello, my name is Chloe Urquhart or some of you might know me by my pen name, Amber Forest. Today I’m going to explain what the terms neurodiverse and neurotypical mean. I have what is considered a neurodivergent condition or developmental difference called dyspraxia, otherwise known as developmental co-ordination disorder (DCD). I am going to start off with some basic definitions and facts regarding neurodiversity and neurotypical. Next I will go into the theories and validity of the terms then I will give you my perspective from a dyspraxic (DCD) viewpoint.

Dyspraxia/DCD strengths & weaknesses. Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/dcd-dyspraxia/

What is neurodiversity?

Neurodiversity focuses on the concept that every person’s way of thinking varies. We all have our quirks but some more so than others. The specific Wikipedia definition is:

‘Neurodiversity refers to variation in the human brain regarding sociability, learning, attention, mood and other mental functions in a non-pathological sense.’

Neurodiversity Symbol. Image by JD Leza on Neuroclastic.com https://neuroclastic.com/art-celebrate-neurodiversity/

What then, you may ask, does ‘neurotypical’ mean? Well, let’s have a look at the Wikipedia definition:

‘Neurotypical or NT, an abbreviation of neurologically typical, is a neologism widely used in the autistic community as a label for non-autistic people. It refers to anyone who does not have any developmental disorders such as autism, developmental coordination disorder/dyspraxia, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder or obsessive compulsive disorder. The term has been adopted by both the neurodiversity movement and the scientific community.’

Image by Planet Neurodivergent https://www.planetneurodivergent.com/neurodiversity-and-neurodivergent-basic-terminology/

Now, there may be some controversy around the terms ‘neurodiversity’ and ‘neurotypical.’ On the one hand there is the theory that we are all neurodiverse as every single individual is unique. This theory suggests to me that there is no such thing as neurotypical as no person is exactly the same.

The other theory uses the terms neurodiversity and neurotypical to help distinguish between people who have what may be considered a neurodivergent condition or some might prefer to call it a developmental difference such as ASD/autism, dyspraxia/DCD, ADHD, ADD, OCD, dyslexia, dyscalculia etc.

Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/other-health-conditions/

I do get how the terms neurotypical and neurodivergent may seem divisive to some people but I also see how it can be very beneficial in acknowledging how, yes, to an extent our brains are all wired differently but someone with one of the listed developmental differences may have quirks, strengths or challenges caused by the way their brain is wired which may mean that sometimes their behaviour or way of thinking can be different from what is expected in society. If society is considered predominantly neurotypical then a person with a developmental difference may feel that they have trouble fitting in. Yes, I know that you do not have to have a developmental difference to feel you have trouble fitting into society but sometimes having one can exacerbate this feeling.

Autism Strengths & Weaknesses. Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/autism/

This brings me to another theory of where labels shouldn’t exist as we are all, to an extent, neurodivergent. As someone with dyspraxia/DCD, I do see why people may find labels unhelpful because they may feel they put people in boxes. I do understand the frustration as people in the past have tried to label me as autistic but I am not autistic. Yes, I have what may be considered autistic traits but some symptoms of autism and dyspraxia can tend to overlap and I have my own unique personality. I do not see my dyspraxia as a label at all: it is only a label if you allow it to be. It is part of what makes me who I am. It has its strengths, weaknesses, advantages and disadvantages. It can enrich the good parts or exacerbate the challenging parts, however that does not mean you can never overcome some of these.

Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/dcd-dyspraxia/

I find having a diagnosis very helpful as it gives myself and others a better understanding. Yes, I acknowledge that we are all neurodivergent to an extent but having a recognised developmental difference like dyspraxia or DCD does mean that your brain is wired differently from a brain without one. Using the term neurodivergent to describe this gives the idea that the line has to be drawn somewhere.

Mental Health & Aquired Neurodiversity. Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/mental-health/

My perspective on the term ‘Neurodiverse’

Neurodiversity symbol with heart. Image by Leahpepinfay on Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/pin/833940056000560144/

You may be asking, ‘what is my stance on using the term, ‘neurodiverse?’ Well, my answer is this:

I can see how being described as neurotypical may rub someone up the wrong way as to an extent we are all neurodiverse, so whatever someone decides to call themselves whether it is neurodiverse or neurotypical, is totally valid, whether they have a recognised developmental difference or not. From my own personal perspective, on the one hand the idea that we are all neurodiverse is comforting because it helps me not to feel isolated and suggests that I am not the only one who may struggle to fit into society. On the other hand, dyspraxia being recognised as a neurodivergent condition is very empowering for me because it helps me see the condition as a strength, something to be proud of. Plus the term could help with raising awareness of recognised developmental differences and create a better understanding of these conditions. To be honest, it is not so much individuals without a recognised developmental condition which I feel should be described as neurotypical, but the society which a lot of us struggle to fit into or meet the expectations of.

Last of all...

I want to say thank you to Genius Within. Their images are amazing and provide so much insight in just one picture for what can take ages to convey in words! I have mainly honed in on the dyspraxia/DCD and autism/ASD pictures because of my experience of people confusing them but I would love to share the pictures of the other neurodiverse conditions as well to raise awareness so here they are:

Tourette Syndrome Strengths & Weaknesses. Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/tourette-syndrome/

ADHD Strengths & Weaknesses. Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/adhd/

Dyslexia Strengths & Weaknesses. Image by Genius Within https://www.geniuswithin.co.uk/what-is-neurodiversity/dyslexia/

disorder
21

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos8 months ago

    Very informative I struggle with being highly sensitive around non sensitive but I use it as a power to heal and find solutions beyond human understanding I never looked for a diagnosis as it's just an info to a completely different story thru life discovery and learning on your own how to not worry about to fit or not I never do fit only for a moment everywhere but nowhere hehe and highly sensitive are usually diagnosed with autism I think diagnosis and labels don't give solution that we other kind of human really need to find or even create on our own especially getting older ! I love your article and way of writing looking forward for more !

  • Miles Pen2 years ago

    Thank you. This was very informative and well-written! Would love to hear your feedback on my piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.