Psyche logo

Top Tips for Dealing with an Anxiety Disorder

From an Average Girl Who Deals with GAD Every Day

By Sirius BlackPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I know it's scary. I'm in the same position you are right now. Living with an anxiety disorder is not easy. It makes even the simplest of tasks a struggle. I had it for years before I got a diagnosis. For me, at first, putting a name to it seemed scarier than ever before. Even though I knew what I was up against, I felt like it was over powering me and I wasn't able to handle it as well as before. Well that ends now. I will win this battle against my mental health condition. I will beat anxiety. And you can too!

Here are some of my top tips to help you do just that.

  1. Take in a deep breath, and focus on that. Focus on controlling your breathing, escape from your thoughts. Try this for three to five minutes. It helps to focus and steady your breathing so you feel calmer and ready to tackle anything.
  2. Tidy up, or organise things. When I see things in perfect order, it makes me less stressed out and feel like I can get my thoughts in some sort of order, too. Mess or things being untidy makes me panic and can be a trigger for a lot of people.
  3. Take a day trip somewhere. Go for a walk. I always go to my favourite place, a nice long coastal walk. Beautiful beach and scenery. Very peaceful and quiet. Being in a happy place with good memories can put your mind at ease, and happy thoughts can help distract you from any stress going on.
  4. I always ask myself, "But really, what's the worst that can happen?" Then, instead of letting yourself stress out about that worst case scenario, ask yourself, "How would I deal with that, if it were to happen?" Answer those questions. It can give you some reassurance that you would be able to cope perfectly well if something bad were to happen.
  5. Take a nice hot bath, always a sure way to relax after a long day of work, or just a stressful day in general.
  6. Have a clear out. Sort through your clothes. Clean out your fridge. Sort through all your cupboards and anywhere you store things. Get rid of anything you no longer want, need, or use. Don't hold onto something because of a 'maybe,' having a big clear out can really help to de-stress. Again seeing things neat and organised can have a positive impact on your mind.
  7. Do something you've been putting off for a while. Message that person. Write that email or letter. Make that phone call. Book that appointment. Prove to yourself that you can do it, and that can be a good start to the day, you might give yourself the courage to do other things that you have been avoiding. Every little thing helps, you can do it.
  8. If you have made a mistake that is eating away at you. Write it down. Make an action plan for how you can avoid making the same mistake in future. Write down two to three points that you can refer back to, if ever you need to.
  9. Sit down and think about all the positive things in your life right now. Think of everything and everyone you are grateful for. Write them down, if it helps. Recognise the good things in your life. This doesn't always help, but it may lift your mood, and help you to control your anxious thoughts.
  10. Do you have a to-do list for the day? Mark something off. Lighten your load so you don't have so much to think about. Either by focusing on that task, put all your effort into it and complete it. Or just cross it off, it can be on tomorrows list, no harm done.
  11. And lastly, forgive yourself. For not doing that thing you meant today. For not seeing that problem that you could have avoided. For eating that thing that wasn't healthy for you. For anything and everything. Not ever day can be great, don't beat yourself up about it, tomorrow will be better.

I hope these have been helpful. Have a good day!

#iam1in4 #endthestigma #mentalhealthawareness

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Sirius Black

Struggling daily with GAD.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.