Psyche logo

Tips for Anxiety/Panic Attacks

From Personal Experience

By Tonya NarzinskyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

There are many forms of anxiety. I never noticed my anxiety until I was probably in high school. It got worse in my college years. Everyone experiences it differently. But if you are like me, you have experienced actual panic attacks. They can be frightening, especially if it is your first episode. My first panic attack landed me in the ER. I felt I was experiencing a "heart attack." After this event, I developed health anxiety. I was so scared that I would have another "near-death experience" (it felt like). After a couple of years now, I had learned what works and what doesn't for me. The ONE thing that is important for you to know is that it will pass and you WON'T die. Even if you feel like you are, you won't. When you feel your heart racing before you speak publicly, remember why you are doing it in the first place. The next step is to breathe. In your nose. Out your mouth. Hold your exhale longer than your inhale. Focus on finding the lowest deepest spot in your stomach as you exhale. Focus on the people in the audience excited to hear what you have to say. Try speaking with excitement and in turn, your body will react and feel excited and not frightened.

We get into our "fight or flight" mode when we feel threatened or provoked. If we can turn around our perceptions of the situation, we can learn how to relax our bodies quicker for a better end result. Our thoughts can drastically spiral our perceptions. If we can change our perceptions towards certain events, we can change how our body reacts physically. Some days I wake up and dread doing certain tasks. Lately, I have been "pep talking" my day up.

"I am excited to complete my daily goals."

"I am excited to be alive and able to experience life."

"I am excited to step out in the world and have new conversations and meet new people."

Sometimes it takes a routine of discipline to start thinking differently. The one thing that has truly helped me get a grasp on my anxiety was when I started to exercise in the gym again. Exercising raises your endorphins and serotonin levels. You can physically feel better after you workout! Isn't that awesome? Another tip is to join a weekly yoga class or work on your breathing/stamina running outside or indoors. You don't need a gym membership to exercise. I suggest trying group classes as well as solo exercises. Group classes force you to work harder and not give up. They are good for discipline.

If you are in the midst of a panic attack... first, remind yourself you aren’t going to die! I remember my first panic attack. I wound up in the ER because I thought I was having a heart attack or something else seriously wrong. That was about three years ago and I’ve only had another one since. I reminded myself that I will be okay and I sat in the shower with cool water and cleared my mind. I did not use any prescriptions either for that. I have been off medications for two years now. I tried them out and do not prefer them. But they are good in an emergency or for travel anxiety.

Our mindset is key. If you are constantly stressed you need to find ways to release it. Exercise is something I push to everyone when I talk about depression or anxiety. Meditation is another exercise to learn how to tame our minds and exercise them in a different way. Make sure you are staying hydrated and watch your caffeine intake. I have definitely noticed my anxiety skyrocket with caffeine in my system, and when I am dehydrated best believe I feel my heart rate more. Eating a healthy diet, exercising, and trying to keep an optimistic attitude, will get you so much further in conquering your ultimate peaceful state.

panic attacks
Like

About the Creator

Tonya Narzinsky

-Bachelors Degree in Psychology from University of South Florida

-Working towards Master's Degree in Psychology

-Dance Instructor, Life Pursuer

-Health, Wellness, & Lifestyle posts

-Working from Wifi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.