Psyche logo

Time

Only Time Will Tell

By Tina MillerPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Trying to remember is like trying to pull names out of my head. I just cannot remember anything anymore it seems. My memory has gotten so bad that I can’t even remember what day it is. Each day flows into one another without any flaws. Everything seems so predictable. Go to sleep one night only to wake up to the same events and lifestyle as the night before. This COVID is dragging. I stay at home so that I don’t have to worry about the COVID. The fear is debilitating to the point that I am afraid to walk down the street in fear of meeting someone else on the road.

It started out great! There was nowhere that I had to go or anywhere that I had to be and every day was a vacation. In the morning when I would wake up and find myself making some great breakfasts. Pancakes, waffles, omelets, even stuffed French toast. Eggs and bacon, breakfast sandwiches, and the list goes on! Crazy! As the day wore on, I would bake a dessert of some kind just because I had nothing else to do. And no need to worry about food! We have grocery delivery now! How GRAND is that! Then my lunches and dinners became grand! I was out of control. It was an out for me. I began cooking and creating these sumptuous goodies because everything became so much easier for me. I never had to leave the house to get what I needed. Amazing isn’t it!

I have even learned how to make the best pizza dough ever! I used to use my bread machine because it worked on its own. I didn’t have to watch it and it just came out pizza dough. With the COVID I found myself with more time to work with. After experimenting with so many different ways to make a pizza crust, I was able to finally narrow it down to something that would surmise anyone's taste buds. There was no one there that you could share with other than using the internet and relaying to people what you wanted to get across for conversation the best you could get during this COVID scare.

Then my weight began to show how extravagant my eating had become. With the lack of exercise, no gyms open due to the COVID, even walking became a fear for me. My home became my sanctuary, until I began to realize that this was not a life, this was hibernation. As time went on, I became more and more aware that the world outside me was slipping by. I couldn’t even keep track of what day it was. Every day was running one right into the other. It was always Saturday for me.

Movies started taking up a lot of my time away from the cooking and cleaning. With all of this COVID going on outside my door, life had dwindled to what movies I could find to entertain me. I have found some really great movies. Now was I not only eating some grand food, but I was sitting and watching some great movies to boot. Up went my weight and my excitement and interest as to what the next day might bring went down. Oh, we might find another good movie, or we can even have some more food delivered! Sounds like a lifestyle headed for disaster to me.

Eventually I started using the internet as a scapegoat. I have learned that there is a whole other world out there from being inside this home where there is no time to keep track of. Days running into weeks and weeks into months. Nothing going on outside. No concerts, no movie theaters, no bars or restaurants. It’s a ghost town out there. There are no more social events to speak of.

In the meantime, with the weather being so cold and icy, the ice created lots of damage to our home and we can’t even go out to buy wood to fix the damage because due to the COVID, prices have skyrocketed up so high that it would break you to even think about trying to fix anything. I had so many plans to fix up my home this summer. Plans were to put a new kitchen in and put down some new wood floor and put some new wood ceiling up and maybe even some wood wall. I love wood, I love the smell of wood. But with the price of wood, I don’t know if any of this will ever get done this year. I was really hoping to get a back porch on my home this summer, but I will never get my back porch with things going so crazy around here and all in the name of the COVID.

So now I am taking everything one day at a time. In the beginning, I thought that things were so great! There were so many new inventive ways to survive without having to leave your home. With the uprise of grocery delivery, which has made a Fa nominal impact on today's life, to not having to worry about what day it is. Everything has gotten jumbled up into one long day, month, year.

I am hoping, as everyone else is, that this summer brings us back to what we knew as normal. All of the events that people would gather at and enjoy. If it doesn’t, then I am prepared to work at keeping track of my days through a new life known as, “The Internet”. This really isn’t such a bad idea. It could be the new trend. There are so many opportunities for anyone out there wanting to learn and grow in a different way. It is going to be so different from what we knew as normal.

It’s kind of sad. So many people out there never realized just what a difference one virus could do to the world. To turn the world into a place where there is no time. Do we have a life without time? Only Time will tell.........

coping
Like

About the Creator

Tina Miller

I have always written. Since I can remember I have kept a diary. Now I just want to show my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.