Psyche logo

Threading The Needle

Navigating this world!

By J.W. BairdPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Threading a needle has never come so easy for me.

But seeing things so differently, well that on the other hand is definitely a part of me!

I have heard that if you do not seem to fit into this world, well it just may be because you were made to create a new one.

I have always been drawn to unique things.

One of kind, something that is not like all the rest.

A yearning to learn and a thirst for knowledge.

Always trying to become a version of me that is the best.

With the slightest bit of talent in an artistic nature, but a creative side that extends well into my future.

As I grew up, I dreamt of becoming a fashion designer or a choreographer.

The possibilities to become whatever I wanted to be were endless.

Thoughts popped into my head as I grew older of becoming an art teacher, a photographer, or an entrepreneur.

But here I am searching for what I may become yet tomorrow.

I try to keep my head out of the clouds, and my feet on the ground.

Always in touch with my own actuality and my decisions were sound.

You ask what it is that keeps me grounded.

It is the time that I get to spend with my family.

It is really the simplest of things.

Listening to music all types of genres, or playing some games: video, cards, or even trivia.

What helps relieve my stresses when they get the best of me.

While in my early twenties it was to pour myself a stiff drink.

Then it was avoidance, and now it is trying to find new coping mechanisms.

I have been getting reacquainted with my interests and hobbies.

Making memories during family vacations, and taking a little bit of me time.

The things that felt like quilty pleasures are now the things I have come to treasure.

Years have gone by in the blink of an eye.

My kids have grown up, and now my world has since been turned upside down.

I search for myself as I go on this quest.

A new journey in life to try to bring back the old me as I try to reset.

I want to be a better version of the person that I have become.

Now as I sit under the sun and wait for the moon.

I try to fill my heart with thoughts of flowers that bloom instead of doom and gloom.

But wait are not the best artists those who are inflicted by pain.

To bring out their emotions within their own masterpieces and works of art.

To show that glimpse of madness that comes straight from the heart.

What is it that I do to bring inner peace?

I sit down and write that has been my creative space.

A place where I can share my voice and fill that void in me.

A state of not needing to be physically fit, and I do not need to worry about my own mentality.

To be who I truly am gives me back a sense of being carefree.

Although I may draw or paint, dance or take up photography, what I look forward to lately is the possibility of becoming an author.

To share my story and hope one day it could help to inspire others.

To not just settle, but live life to the fullest!

My creative activity is submitting my stories and seeing them being published.

Vocal has truly become a happy place for me.

It is where I go to escape when I need a break from my own reality!

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

J.W. Baird

Who Am I?

I keep asking myself. I spent half of my life as a single mother. Pushing myself to be the strong independent individual that I have always been. My kids have grown and my life seems turned upside down.

I now search to find myself!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

J.W. Baird is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.