Psyche logo

The Struggles of Procrastination

I really don't want to

By Naomi PPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Struggles of Procrastination
Photo by Abbie Bernet on Unsplash

Now I'm not one to beat around the bush, so when I say something I mean it even if it sometimes sounds harsh. So when there are people who tell me to stop procrastinating, let's just say I get a little annoyed. And it's not because they're giving me advice on how to better my life. No I quite enjoy things like that. I know I struggle with many things including anxiety and I want to figure out how to make it better.

So what is it about someone telling me to just "stop procrastinating" that gets me upset?

Well for me, it's them making it out to be so easy. I know a lot of times people who are hard workers and people who like to get things done early and quickly think that we're just being lazy but that's not the case at all. It's actually something mentally that always holds me back. It literally feels like a voice in my head telling me "It's okay, you can get back to it later. Don't think about it and everything will be just fine."

Procrastination is not just about wanting to do something it's a whole mentality. When we're procrastinating we know that we're doing it and we also know that it's bad. And yet we do it anyways. So if it's not about laziness what is it about?

Well it's really not that simple. It's like someone asking me why and how I got anxiety? It's kind of an insensitive question and it's also quite rude. Procrastination in itself is completely irrational. We know we're doing it bit we don't necessarily mean or want to.

People engage in this cycle of chronic procrastination because of an inability to manage negative moods around a task. And yes I know that sounds strange. We procrastinate because of bad moods?

But if you seriously think about it, it actually makes a lot of sense. It's a way of coping with emotions and negative moods induced by certain feelings. Boredom, anxiety, insecurity, frustration, etc.

Procrastination is really about emotional regulation, not time regulation. And considering that in these recent times a large number of people have been having trouble controlling there emotions it's actually quite easy to see why procrastination rates would rise.

Now for some of us with things like, anxiety, depression, etc. it's harder for us to get rid of this habit. If we're already upset and then we decide to procrastinate sometimes we will think of how disappointing we are, or how useless we are and that will only lead to even more procrastination. It's a hard cycle to break out of.

This brings me to my next point. Don't believe these articles talking about "Easy ways to stop procrastinating." If they don't know your feelings or the emotions causing your problem then how are they supposed to help you? Simple answer is that they can't.

Don't let these things or these so called "Easy treatments" bring you down. The only solution to your problem is yourself and you should take however much time you need to resolve the situation. Don't take yourself for granted. Emotions are not something that can be easily controlled by tips and tricks. Don't base your value or self worth on how well you control your emotions. It's something that everyone struggles with.

No matter how hard it seems to be you can never give up. Because giving up means that you no longer want to push forward or keep trying. But I know for a fact that no matter how bad you feel or how sad you get, that you want to keep trying. Not to prove it to other people but to prove it to yourself.

Procrastination is just one part of a whole spectrum that is affected by your emotions. There are so many parts of you that will only change if you want them too.

Self acceptance is the first step to moving on from the past or from your emotional trauma and helping yourself be the best you.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Naomi P

Currently working on a novel so I'll be updating less. I like writing stories that could either educate or help others both emotionally and physically.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.