Psyche logo

The Struggles of Being Young With Illnesses

Being Diagnosed With Ptsd, Depression, and Anxiety at a Young Age

By Briana WhitePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

At the age of 9, I was diagnosed with PTSD, and subsequently also anxiety and depression. I had been sexually abused for years, and when finally reaching out and going to therapy, a slew of problems were brought up to my parents; concerns about my mental health. I was taught things a young child should never have to be taught; how to properly manage a triggered PTSD attack, how to get your body to rest when you cannot sleep, how to calm yourself after a flashback. I was told that while it will get better, it will never go away.

At the age of ten, I had my first suicide attempt. I couldn't handle being seen as "damaged goods," and now that my abuser was gone, I couldn't put any value in myself. I was groomed and taught that my only value was sexual, and most people don't want a ten-year-old girl sexually.

At 13, I started cutting myself. The guilt of being able to do nothing to make myself better had started to eat away at me. I couldn't comprehend how to handle everything I was feeling, and self harm gave physical feeling to emotional pain. My friends rallied behind me, trying to be supportive and help, but none of them understood the horrors I had seen, nor the internal battle I had on the daily just to get out of bed. Thirteen saw another suicide attempt. A week in a hospital bed.

At 18, another attempt. I didn't think I would make it to adulthood, and graduation and the crushing reality hit me like a truck.

At 19, the end of an abusive relationship. I sold my body online to pay bills while my ex moved out of our apartment. While I loved him, he took advantage of my mental conditions, gaslighting me and forcing me to believe everything was my fault in the relationship. My first real love left me, and I saw no other way to pay for things than selling myself online on live cams, selling photos, and videos. It's what I was told ten years ago that I was good for.

At 20, I am currently enrolled in school, trying to find something that is my passion, while still struggling with everything. It has gotten better over the years. I haven't cut myself in a year, I am in a healthy relationship with someone who understands and supports me, but I still get odd looks when I tell someone I have PTSD. There are days I cannot get out of bed due to my depression; days I can't breathe thanks to anxiety. These silent killers are truly that: silent. In a matter of moments, I can go from fine to crying, simply due to a smell or an accidental touch.

Having been dealing with this for over half my life has impacted me and my family in ways I could never imagine. Trust is hard. Respect is even harder. I am firm in my beliefs, and I have learned to become a strong woman. But I miss the childhood I never got to have. And I yearn for the innocence that was stolen from me.

trauma
Like

About the Creator

Briana White

Just a 20 year old person trying to get my words and thoughts out there

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.