Psyche logo

The stigma of living in the south with a mental illness.

It is not paranoia when people are gossiping behind your back!

By Christy BangPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture by Research gate

The South is a much different culture than the rest of the U.S. Some might even say it is another country in comparison to the rest of the U.S. It is not a bad place. We have the best tasting food in the world, we have Mardi’s Gras, a holiday devoted to partying, and we make our sweet tea taste like syrup due to the sugar content. Southerners are kind and generous people. We always hold the door for strangers and even hold conversations with them like we have been the best of friends for years.

When it comes to change and acceptance of the different or other you may find yourself faced with an argument and then more. It is a very conservative culture and very judgmental society. While it is true, we are making efforts to change things some things will not. Having a mental illness marks you in public as a pariah, it is a Stigma of being a bad and sick person that cannot like or seen with you.

I am bipolar with a borderline personality disorder; I was diagnosed at the age of twenty-four. For close to 15 years, I lived in denial due to this Stigma. My family has treated me differently ever since my diagnosis and I could not help the feeling of I do not want to have this issue. And of course, being in the South people talked and before I knew it everyone knew, and a good portion of people went out of their way to avoid me as though I had the plague. It was rough for a bit. Through therapy I learned it did not matter what other people thought just myself. This was a hard progression, and it took the whole 15 years to realize this was true and to seek professional medication management.

I am now pretty much just like most people. My bipolar is under control and well on medication and I am through with therapy. And if I had gotten professional help sooner things might be different in my life. My life is not bad, it is just not ideal. I do not regret my choices. My experience simply taught me you cannot always go with the majority. Now I face the issue of being told there is nothing wrong with me why cannot I just shake it off and be like everyone else. Part of being bipolar is depression and I suffer more depression than mania. That means some days I just cannot face reality and get out the bed. Another favorite I get is your using your illness as an excuse to not live life. I Stay busy and have many hobbies. I just do not leave my house often.

Mental illness is the invisible sickness and so many people cannot grasp what that means. In the South it means you are lazy and or crazy and quickly labeled so. Who would blame someone for wanting to Stay home instead of the public treating you like you have leprosy? It is disheartening to see people actively avoid you and worse have them whisper behind your back. While our town has made strides to accept and help mental illness with organizations like NOMA, they have not all. Most people down here will just ignore their problems related to mental issues because they do not want anyone to think different or gossip about them. And this is the South, so we have degrees in gossiping. It is a tough living when 90% of the population think it taboo to go to therapy or see a psychiatrist. Fortunately for me I am doing much better and have fully accepted my diagnosis. My illness does not define me it is only a small part of who I am and so many people are missing a great friend.

bipolar
Like

About the Creator

Christy Bang

Hello,

I'm new to content writing but have a passion for writing and love to read. Thanks for having me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.