Psyche logo

The Ring

The onset of my O.C.D.

By YelliPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2

So for those of you who have not seen The Ring, I suggest if you are to do so you have a fluffy pillow, a cuddle buddy (furry or non-furry) and you may want to keep the lights on.

Although I haven’t seen this movie since the first and ONLY time I’m pretty sure it’s still fresh in my mind but forgive me if my facts are a bit skewed due to the erosion Of memories over time. From what I remember the premise of the movie is about a young girl who may or may not be possessed and may or may not have the power to kill a bunch of horses, make her mother commit suicide by jumping off a freaking cliff and was evil enough to make somebody push her down a well where even Lassie can’t help her. She did all this from beyond the grave i believe, while also simultaneously creating a short film that is later found by a random string of people who watch it, and directly after watching it, they receive a call (i think from the ghost girl herself) that they now only have 7 days to live because they watched this cursed movie.

What a weird movie concept proposal that must have been Lol. So many questions. And yet i swear to you i will NEVER watch this film again to see if my adult brain can seek out the answers to the questions it left my immature mind rumbling around for years to follow , it scared the bajeezus out of me that EFFIN much.

SO MUCH SO IN FACT, that immediately after watching that movie, I started to show early onset signs of O.C.D. (Obsessive compulsive disorder) and am now a quirky motherfunker. Lol to say the least.

So it all started the next day when i was watching a completely unrelated movie which wasn’t horror at all and had a completely opposite vibe (although i can’t remember the movie specifically) and I couldn’t control the thought that if I watch this movie in it’s entirety, I could possibly die in 7 days. Just as the characters in The Ring unknowingly watched a possessed movie in it’s entirety and immediately after received that call That they had a week to live.

SO on purpose I made a conscious decision to close my eyes for a portion of the movie i was watching, because then i was safe. I convinced myself that if i had my eyes closed for a minute of it, it didn’t count As watching the whole movie.

Later in life, I realized I do this with everything i watch, but never fully understood why. At the movie theater, I always leave in the middle to use the restroom, even if I didn’t order that extra double large unnecessarily refillable coca cola. I leave to escape the darkness and the overall chill that surrounds you in a movie theater. I leave to break the gaze of that creepy guy in the back of the theater who comes alone just to seek out his next victim. Or at least that’s what i convince myself when I’m scooching over everyone in the aisle trying to make my way out, trying to be cautious of their popcorn buckets and pop. And if I don’t physically leave, I’ll blink for an un-naturally long time in consecutive increments as to try to remain subtle. Most people don’t catch on. Don’t feel bad for me, lol it’s not something that has a huge affect on my life. Mild case of weirdness at most. But I’m cute and playful enough that my friends tease me for a minute and move on. Not a big deal. But interestingly enough I decided to google it one day and my research lead to a list of symptoms and forums for people with Obsessive compulsive disorder and it turns out i do ALOT of the things that are classified as O.C.D. Symptoms.

More specifically My set of quirks can be categorized as Intrusive thoughts O.C.D. with a heavy influence of magical thinking.

Lol i wish i could tell you my brain was filled with unicorns, rainbows, and young wizards trying to defeat ‘he who must not be named‘. But that just isn't the case. What is meant by “Magical thinking” is basically anything without a sensical explanation. Irational fears, Phobias and thoughts That link two things that are completely unrelated. For example, on Monday I could convince myself that if I don’t brush my teeth for the duration of two “happy birthdays“ sung to completion that my hamster will kick the bucket. Tuesday I go out of my way to not step on the sidewalk cracks to prevent breaking my mama’s back. Wednesday i have to leave an even amount of grapes in the fruit bowl, or it will rain. Thursday my sauce can’t be touching my ravioli’s or my car will surley get a flat tire. Friday i have to drive back home to check that i locked the door or there will be a series of break-ins on my block. Same way i convince myself that if i don’t watch a movie in it’s entirety (just in case it’s a possessed movie) that my life will not have a termination date of 7 days.

It’s an exhausting pattern of events that occurs in this wacky head of mine and I’m not saying that it’s definitely because of The Ring, but I am saying that if you have any psychological disorders or detriments that you were unaware off previously to watching that scary a$$ movie, it may not be a top pick for Your next family movie night.

disorder
2

About the Creator

Yelli

I’m a tattoo artist who sometimes gets drawers block. And when that happens I work in words. Either way, the creativity’s got to come out somehow or I would surley burst. Not seeking fans but familiar faces are always welcomed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.