Psyche logo

The Cost of Anxiety

To Your Peace of Mind

By Dawn WestPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Anxiety. Even the spelling and pronunciation of the word seems frenetic, as though it is in a rush to be said, thought, or seen. No one has ever said this word with a slow cadence.

My anxiety was a surprise. Or so I thought. Looking back on life before kids, if I was ever "nervous," it would hit me in the stomach and then my hands would shake or the occasional all over sweat would happen. I would practice deep breathing to calm myself. But I never called anxiety. I call it that now. It would happen over the oddest things such as: Walking into a grocery store, going to the movies, or anticipating an event.

After my daughter was born, I was diagnosed with Post Partum Depression. I started seeing a Therapist who helped me work through the post-partum depression and it was then that I had to confront my anxiety. Life with my mental illness came into being. I had a mental illness. I have a mental illness. It took my a long time to reconcile to this. I think, as people, we justify and justify again to avoid the unavoidable. We finagle, make excuses, and try to live a life that is a lie to avoid the realness that a mental illness diagnosis slaps you with.

After Ian was born, the anxiety became a shadowy hand. The hand would hold me under when I tried to sleep so I would awake in a blind panic, gasping breaths, reassuring myself that there was light coming through the window. That life was fine.

At dusk was when I was the worst... the hand of panic would enclose me, sending me to the door and my car, as if on auto pilot. A long drive at dusk always helped, listening to music with the windows down. My understanding husband would hand me my keys and tell me to come back when I was ready.

It was during these mini roadtrips that I was able to distance myself from the anxiety and see that my anxiety was costing me family time and making me doubt my abilities as a person. That's when I remembered what my therapist said when I saw them all those years ago: Firstly, are your current thoughts productive to you as a person or a harmful thing? And secondly, if harmful, it is time to do something productive.

In other words; recognizing my anxiety and putting a solid plan in place to combat it. No more no dealing with the issue.

Now, when I feel anxious, I recognize it, acknowledge the anxiety, and deal with it.

For me that means to do lists. More productivity equals less anxiety or the free time to think negatively.

I plan my days... even days off with an activity that has me using my hands and thoughts.

I give back by volunteering at my child's school. I find peace in helping out. And I love the community of other mothers, educators, and staff that are there. We are making a difference in the kids lives.

And lastly... I cut myself some slack! I am human. I have bad days and in no way am I perfect. I recognize this in myself and others. I allow myself a day to do absolutely nothing and feel ok about it.

Anxiety is never easy to deal with, but by acknowledging and dealing with anxiety, putting a solid plan together (whether it is seeking therapy, medication, or coping mechanisms) you can live a life that is both joyous and peaceful. My anxiety now is 1/25th of what it used to be and I enjoy life again without the shadowy hand following me around.

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Dawn West

Hi there! My name is Dawn and I have forged an alliance with writing. I am a mother of two crazy kids. I am also a licensed nurse and practice aromatherapy. You can view my blog Oilwitch here: oilwitch.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.