Psyche logo

Thank you, Dad

Why I got my first tattoo

By Elle LunakPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
2015

People say a picture is worth a thousand words... So, what does it say when that picture is a quote on your body that is worth your life?

I originally never saw myself getting tattoos. I always thought they were beautiful and amazing but also heard about how painful they could be. When I was twelve years old promised myself I would NEVER get one.

Going through life, I always struggled with my self-image. Suffering from E.D (eating disorders) all through high school, never being asked to a school dance and not having any friends for almost five years (middle school- Jr. High). I never saw myself as beautiful or pretty and always envied the "popular people" and wished I could have one chance to be them.

When I was eighteen, I was going through one the worst self-loathing moments of my life. Still not being skinny enough (though I was ALL muscle all I saw was fat) I was on the verge of becoming non-existent (literally) and was heading down a dangerous, unhealthy path. My parents tried to support me the best way they could, but for people who don't suffer from E.D it can be hard to know what to say or do.

On a day I was feeling depressed and disgusting. I see an email from my dad sitting in "unread" with the caption "This made me think of you..." I open it to read the following quote, "Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind" (Theodor Geisel A.K.A Dr. Seuss). Immediately, I got emotional, in an empowering way.

I'm not perfect, and that quote has saved me more than once. I struggled with E.D from a young age until twenty when I decided to get help the first time. When I felt I had regained control of my life I got that tattooed on my body as a reward for fighting my battle with anorexia. I stayed symptom free for two years before hitting bumps in the road.

At twenty-three I found the love and abuse for alcohol. Causing me to gain weight excessively fast (I was drinking twelve- twenty-four alcoholic drinks a day) which caused a relapse with E.D. I lost my way and thought, this time I couldn't get out of it.

I forgot about the quote tattooed on my side and started to let life beat me down instead of taking back control. For a year and a half, I struggled with abusing alcohol. When I again hit a low point, similar or maybe worse than before I remember looking at myself in the mirror and breaking down. Knit picking EVERY little thing wrong with my body as I examined it in mirror and froze when I saw that tattoo on my side.

I, again, read the quote out loud. I was twenty-three and had allowed a drug to get the best of me, allowed myself to forget how strong I was and was able to find my strength again, brushing my hand over my tattoo I called doctors, went to rehab and enrolled myself in the Emily program. It's been almost three years since and I have been able to stay symptom free, and remind myself every day why I got that tattoo in the first place.

I am now twenty-five and have been symptom free for almost three years. I live by that quote every day, and I am blessed that it saved me not once, but twice from myself.

Thank you, Dad, for always supporting me and giving me the gift of courage through a quote that allowed me to live.

2019

eating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.