Psyche logo

Surviving Your Panic Attack

A Few Tricks To Beat The Beast Inside

By Jon JonesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
You are not alone

It's torture. There's no other way to describe the feelings and physical elements of dealing with a panic attack. You are under attack from your own mind and your own body. It can last for what seems like an eternity and feels like you may actually be dying. My first panic attack resulted in a 911 phone call and an ambulance ride due to my true and sincere belief that my heart was failing. But I'm not writing this article to discuss the symptoms and the triggers. By now, you likely already deal with them on a day-to-day basis. This article is a few tips and tricks I've picked up along the last three years that have given me a winning edge in the moment of a panic attack.

1 - Just stop. The best thing to do during the onset of overstimulation is to focus your mind on one thing. Starting from 100, count backwards until you reach a slower mindset. I like to imagine a different color with each number as it provides more for the mind to focus on so it slows down the physical signals. An alternative is to find anything within eyesight to count. Books on a shelf, toys on the floor, or even fish in your tank. The important thing is to pull brain power away and aim it at something else. Too far past thinking clearly to count? Move on to number two.

A novel of vast information. Can't recommend it highly enough. By Dr. Seuss of course.

2 - The salt packet. Ever go through a fast food place and ask for extra salt? They generally give you a little package containing two "doses" of salt. I'd recommend stashing a few in your backpack, purse, glove compartment, or anywhere that will be handy. Why do you ask? Because the moment your brain begins that inevitable descent into overdrive, you're going to grab a pack, tear it open, and dump it right on your tongue. The brain will immediately focus on the intense (albeit somewhat unpleasant) rush of activity on your tastebuds. This gives you a window to slow down and grab the reigns and focus on something else, which will likely be finding something to drink! Now you're organizing your thoughts from A to B again even for something simple.

Sugar might taste sweeter, but it won't pack the same punch. Remember to eat responsibly.

3 - The smell method. This one is a little strange but bear with me. I have the unfortunate tendency to feel "starved" of oxygen during my panic and anxiety attacks. Despite breathing in as deeply as I can, I don't feel satisfied. Almost like my lungs aren't filling up with enough oxygen. This naturally exacerbates things and generally leads to hyperventilating. So, when I begin to feel the tightness in my chest and start to feel like I'm not getting enough oxygen, I grab something from the kitchen. Sour cream and onion chips are the golden ticket for me for some reason. I open the bag and focus on my sense of smell before taking in a slow, deep breath through my nose. Something about the smell filling my nostrils and going into my lungs almost lets me feel the fullness of the experience and set my mind to slow down a little.

Take some time to stop and smell the roses (or food works for me too)

4 - Ice ice baby. This one is similar to the salt trick, but maybe a bit healthier depending on your frequencies of panic attacks. Panic attacks will almost always leave you dehydrated or at least close to it. So this method helps in more ways than one. When you start to fall down that rabbit hole and see your red flags, hop up and walk on over to the freezer. Grab an ice cube and pop that little frozen sucker right in your mouth. The intense cold immediately will override your brain's focus to try and figure out what is causing the sudden change in your internal temperature. You can also substitute for a glass of ice water. Just make sure it's C O L D.

Alright, STOP. Calm it down and listen. Ice is back with panic prevention.

5 - Acknowledge it. This can be the hardest step in the path to defeating the panic attack. Your mind is racing and your chest is tight. Your thoughts filling up with the worst. I suggest finding any reflective surface be it a mirror, car window, or even your cell phone camera, and stare into your eyes. Tell yourself out loud "I am having a panic attack. This is my brain telling my body to fight or flight. I am ok and this will pass." and put that track on repeat. Accepting your reality is the first step to controlling it and by acknowledging the reality of your situation, you take away the unknown's power to control you any further.

Happy looks good on you

All these tips and tricks have been incredibly helpful for me while going through my own battles, but the most important piece of information that you will find in this article is this: no amount of information on the internet is a suitable substitute for professional help and medical assistance. You know your own body better than anyone. If you feel like you need to go to the hospital, then go. I went three times in a single week before finally being ok mentally. And please remember this: you are not alone. I'll provide a website below that you may find helpful. Full of information from leading professionals and even stories from survivors that have fought the same battles that you are. Never give up. This life is yours and you control your future.

panic attacks
Like

About the Creator

Jon Jones

A stay-at-home dad with a passion for the written word. I enjoy writing poetry, short stories, fantasy, and self-help material and am always deeply appreciative of the time and tips my readers provide me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.