Psyche logo

Someone Asked Me

How does it feel to be depressed?

By Eboni BurrisPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Someone Asked Me
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Recently, I was asked how it felt to be depressed. It really lit a spark in me, because I never thought about how I physically felt. I got so wrapped up in that question and I'm going in on my personal experience with depression.

I believe I was depressed before I even knew there was such a thing. I rememer going through a very traumatic situation between the ages of 4 and 5 years old. I was verbally and sexually abused. I didn't understand why this grown man was so mean to me but I knew I didnt want to be around. I would beg and plead with my family members to take me with them but they worked so I had to stay home. That is my earliest memory of feeling totally HELPLESS.

I felt bound and gagged because I didnt know who or how to tell. So when my situation was discovered, I rememer feeling NUMB. I was still not able to speak about it in detail.. So I didn't. Even though the abuse stopped there was no relief.

Then at age 13, I realized I was so SAD and ANGRY. Everyone around me just didnt understand it. My family thought it was just a phase and all teenagers go through it. But, for me, I was in so much PAIN. I would sit in the dark and cry everyday. That lasted about a year. Then, it was back to being NUM.

I finished high school and also had a baby. So I knew i had to work and go to school and keep busy so my thoughts of sadness wouldn't take over. That only worked for a short time. I began to behave in a very risky way. Sex was an escape for me. I didnt feel loved but with sex i felt good in the moment. Until it was over and SHAME rushed over me.

I settled down and had 2 more beautiful babies a grand total of 3 by the age of 25. I had gotten married and I ffound myself having LOSS OF TIME. I couldn't figure out how I ended up in certain places. I had this obssession with being the perfect wife and mom. I ignored the nightmares and flash backs and something triggered me into wanting to "NOT BE HERE". I started feeling like I wanted to hurt myself. There were days I couldn't get out of bed the physical and mental pain took over me. I would be so cruel to myself. In my head, would be beating myself up. Sometimes, I would wake up and the first thing on my mind would be "WHY DID I WAKE UP ". Thats when I knew to get professional treatment.

So to answer the question, depression feels like Im in a fight and I am mentally beating myself down. Each blow causes me physical pain. Its something that comes and goes for me. I still have bouts with depression but I continue to practice different coping mechanisms.

Photo by Brandon Green on Unsplash

depression
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.