Psyche logo

Soberversary

One Year In

By Jennifer Black YoungPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Soberversary
Photo by Sérgio Alves Santos on Unsplash

Hi, I’m Jen and I’m an alcoholic. Today is my one year anniversary of sobriety, on July 4th of all days. It was barely a blip on the calendar, almost passed without even being noticed. That is how I wanted it. I wanted the day to arrive like any other day because I don’t really talk much about my sobriety. I acknowledge it, I will answer questions if asked, but I don’t bring up because it’s embarrassing.

Acknowledging being sober today means being reminded of how bad I had gotten. It’s hard to think about how bad off I was. As I write this, I am still technically homeless. I am struggling to find my place in a work environment and have not been able to wrap my head around the idea of physically going to a place of employment. As a result I am focusing on remote and work-from-home opportunities.

I can admit that I am afraid. I am afraid to go back out there. The COVID-19 lock-down afforded me the chance to get sober and I don’t think I could have done it if my favorite local bar wasn’t shut down for over a year. But it also made me an introvert. I am nervous about being out in the world where temptation lives because I haven’t been out there in so long. I didn’t get sober by succeeding in facing those temptations. I got sober through avoidance and isolation...I got sober in a vacuum.

It is a strange day. It was a long year. It wasn’t safe travels the whole way. I had two distinct and separate screw-ups...but I didn’t continue and I didn’t spiral out. I got up the next day, determined to sort myself out. After the first I thought, shit, that sucked...after the second I figured out that I was getting complacent and that I still had a lot of work to do.

I know a lot of folks would say that I haven’t really earned my soberversary because of those two events. Part of me agrees. But really, those events did not undo all the work I had achieved. Life, and sobriety, isn’t a board game...,it’s not about “leveling up” and I don’t get sent back to start. I still woke up 10 months and 11 months into my journey and I was able to use that time to get insight into what had caused me to momentarily relapse. And relapse is part of getting straight. Show me the guy that was a true addict that got sober and never relapsed a single time for the rest of their life and I will introduce you to the unicorn I keep in my wallet (her name is Margot, by the way).

I’ve had days that were harder than others. Days where I have had to have a conversation in my head, more like an argument, reminding myself of the many, many reasons I don’t drink anymore. On those hard days, it can be a real mindfuck. I don’t even like drinking. There is nothing there that I want. Drunk me sucks...she is stupid, loud, gross, sloppy, annoying, needy, and just weird. Booze eats up my mind, my soul, my home, my job, my money, and my relationships. But I still want it. It’s the worst relationship I have ever been in, and I have been in some truly shit relationships.

Then I have easy days where I don’t even think about it at all, not once. Those are the sweet days. The days when I know I can do this. The days that I don’t have to come up with creative solutions to divert my attention. The days where I am just in the moment and everything makes sense. It doesn’t mean those are days where nothing goes wrong, it just means that those days are proof that I am capable of handling things in a non-addict way. That I am capable...period.

Here’s to another year!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Black Young

Jen is a writer, mom, and officiant from Ohio. She likes to travel and collects things like coffee mugs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.