Psyche logo

Shattered

shattered

By Finn River ClemonsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Shattered
Photo by Justus Menke on Unsplash

If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

The edge of the precipice is such a fragile thing; teetering but managing to maintain your balance, just thus. To both sides holds the unknown, though you can feel the madness emanating from the beyond; the tightrope holds familiarity, clutching to it as your only means of sanity.

If you fall into the unknown and no one is around to see, are you forgotten?

It’s human nature to viciously hold onto the threads of sanity as if it were going to save you from the unavoidable madness; grasping at straws only to find yourself descending into the one thing you most fear; darkness. Through the journey of maintaining the feeble light within us all, we thrust those around us into the abyss without a care. Thus is the fault of humans.

How can we tell when something is truly broken when we, ourselves, are barely complete?

Shattered on the ground below, can’t find the pieces needed to make me whole. What happened to my heart? Did I unequivocally lose it along the way? The things I feel are in utter chaos; can’t distinguish anger from fear or depression from joy. Within my head are a cacophony of thoughts, but when did I lose the childlike wonder and positivity?

The words of those abused haunt me, awake or asleep, I cannot escape. They echo in my head as if I were standing in the middle of a deep cavern. The past bouncing back to me just when I had thought I had left it all behind. Is there an escape from this?

Since when had my self-confidence turned to self-deprecation? If only I could track my descent into madness for then I may be able to find myself again. I only wish I had left the trail of my hopes and dreams to pull me from this suffocating darkness. I see the faces surround me of fake contentment as they go through life never really attempting to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives. I see those around me settle for what they view to be their own personal heaven, and yet, what is heaven to those who haven’t seen the light in years? It goes to show that even the simplest of minds can trick themselves into believing that Hell is heaven, down is up, and life is worth it.

If only I could make the ear piercing screams for help in this solidary world stop. I see their faux happiness, but all advances to bring them from the darkness are met with snide remarks and a slap to the face. It is, after all, human nature to show strength, never weakness, in the face of another. For trust placed in the wrong hands is just as fragile as the heart and soul.

If someone dies unhappily, are they considered a failure?

We all go through life expecting it to play out as a fairy tale, but where is our savior? When the villains are within our own minds, how can we expect refuge? We are all damsels in distress, walking around while war is waging in our minds, expecting to be saved from ourselves. Some of us go through life, helping to ease the burden of others, while the madness grows bigger and more deep rooted. When will our dashing prince come in to free us from the tower of insanity we’ve been locked in since leaving the womb? Though who’s to say that we’d be able to tell when we walk through our journey holding such distrust in our fellow humans, no matter how founded it is.

We all expect to go through life just to die, though are always told to find our happily ever after. When we are all shattered and can’t seem to make ourselves complete again, how are we to find that which makes us truly happy? Understandably, we all function to conform to that which is ideal, but is impossible. So that goes to show, when the impossible cannot be reached and everyone around us won’t be satisfied until they morph us into their own ideals of perfection, we will be taunted from the beyond. We are bound to witness our futures rip at the seams while we sit back and watch our happily ever after shatter at our feet.

What is life but a mangled mirage of everything we’ve ever wanted and our hopes and dreams? If everyone is simply broken images of themselves, how can we expect to ever rebuild ourselves?

Are we bound to be shattered?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Finn River Clemons

Mental illness

Suffering

Pain

I write to you

But not in vain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.