Psyche logo

Saving Amy

The story behind a drug addiction.

By Alexis BellawPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

The emotions and story behind this song for me is completely different than the actual song itself. I should start off that my aunt’s name is Amy. I’ve always been super close to her and I could tell her anything.

My aunt is an amazing person and one day she started going downhill. She started walking down a path she might not see her way out of. She got addicted to drugs and started looking for ways to make money that didn’t involve an actual job. We tried everything to get her to stop, but once the addiction had begun it was too hard to talk her out of it.

She was having kids left and right and they had different fathers. One of her kids she doesn’t know who the father is at all. She lost every one of her kids to foster care. The oldest three boys were taken under custody of their grandma.

My grandma took custody of the youngest girl and had her for a few months before she was finding it hard to care for an infant and she had children services take her back. She regretted that decision. Once the father of the new baby girl wanted custody of his daughter he also tried getting the girl my grandma had custody of knowing he wasn’t the father. This caused my grandma to do everything to get her back.

Meanwhile, my aunt is still off getting high on the drugs that would eventually end her life at the rate she was going. She was with an abusive man who helped her go out on the streets and make money through means that she should not have been doing. She even married this man.

She started getting better before she had met this man she ended up marrying. She was doing good and then perk30’s were found in her purse shortly after getting with him. Eventually this led her to getting strung out on heroin. Our hearts ached for her. She was with a man who dragged her down the wrongful path with him.

This song reminds me of her because she does need saved. Amy needs saved from this horrible addiction she walked into. I want my aunt back from death’s tight clutches.

To this day, my grandma has custody of her three oldest boys and her oldest daughter while the younger boy is with his dad’s woman and the youngest girl is with her father. My aunt is currently residing in prison where she got 4 years for a burglary charge.

She was with her husband while he robbed someone’s garage and she was there to keep watch. They were caught and with all the other previous charges already on them it only made their sentence worse. Her husband got 7 years in prison.

I’m not mad that they got caught as much as I miss seeing my aunt, I’m mad that she let him talk her into going with him to rob someone’s garage. I believe that prison is a good place for her. Without access to her drugs she had no option except to get better. Whether or not she stays sober when she’s out is on her, but we severely hope she chooses to stay sober and avoid her bad habits.

My aunt is doing good in prison. She looks healthy and I email her quite often. She’s going through many classes and even getting her GED. She wants to get out early. She’s served 2 years already and she wants to come home and be better. She’s said this before and went right back down that same path. We can only hope she stays right this time.

When I hear Saving Amy all of these thoughts and memories flood back to my mind and I can’t help, but to cry. She means the world to me and I don’t want to see her going back down that path again. I want to see her doing better. I want to see her being saved if it’s not too late for saving Amy.

addiction
1

About the Creator

Alexis Bellaw

20-year-old momma of two precious little girls writing my feelings out and publishing them to you. I hope you enjoy my content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.