Psyche logo

Sales guys, DON’T Say THESE things when you’re in sales!

Instead, say…

By Michiel SchuerPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

Ever been in a sales conversation where you responded to a prospect in a certain way, that didn’t convince them to go with you?

Human psychology is a very interesting thing. Everyone can make a sale if they do/say the right things.

Below are a few examples of scenario's that might happen to you. Learn to to respond in the correct way, and you'll definitely see an increase in sales.

Scenarios

1. Client says: “Can you call me back?”

Don’t agree, instead say: “What I can do is, I can give you my number and you’ll have to call me back later today, to see if I’d be available for you at that point. Here’s my number: 1234564897. What’s your timeframe on getting back to me later today? Because I’m not even sure I’ll be in the office.”

2. Client says: “So why should I go with you?”

Answer: Well, I’m not even sure you should yet.

We have to understand a bit more about what you need, just to make sure we can help. Maybe you don’t even us.

3. Client says: “I’m too busy now, can you mail me some info about your offer?”

Answer: “Just to get the best info for you and to avoid us both wasting our time, can you tell me a bit more about what exactly you’re looking for? What are you using now?”

Also, never send info before knowing if this is even the person making the decisions. Don’t waste your time. Ask questions.

4. Don’t say: “Hey, I’m just following up about our call last week. Do you have any more questions? I’d really love to work to work with you, please email/call me back.”

Instead, say or mail: “Hey John, tried to reach you a few times, but didn’t hear back…... Where should we go from here?”

5. Don’t say: “Hey, John, it’s Michael, do you have a minute…? (small talk) How’s your day going? How’s the weather there?”

Instead say: “Hey John, it’s Michael with AwesomeCompany. It looks like you responded to one of our ads yesterday about …. looking at … so that you can … (repeat back the end result)”

6. Don’t say: “Hey John, I’m just calling to follow-up.”

Instead say: “Hey John, it’s Michael. I just had time to get back to you.”

7. Don’t say: “The point of this call is to go over xxx, and hopefully we’ll be able to reach a decision today, is that fair?”

Instead say: “Towards the end of the call, if you feel that it “might be”’ what you’re looking for, we can talk about “possible” next steps. Would that help you?”

8. Don’t say: “Do you have 2 minutes to talk?”

Instead say: “Did I get you at a bad time?”

Replace these words & sentences!

  • Loan -> Funding
  • Money -> Investment
  • Trust me -> I’m confident
  • Contract -> agreement
  • Just following up -> as promised
  • Problem → Challenge
  • Prospect -> Client
  • Objection -> Concern
  • Sorry for the delay -> Thanks for your patience
  • Just wanted to check in -> When can I expect an update
  • Sorry my bad I missed that -> Thanks for letting me know
  • Does that make sense? -> Let me know your questions
  • What works for you? -> Could you do…?

Sales is about psychology and human interaction. You can sell anything, if you use the right words, focus on the right emotions and simply convince them that you’re the right person.

-

If you find this piece interesting, please consider leaving a ❤️, or subscribing to see more of my stories! Your support means a lot to me!

listhow to
Like

About the Creator

Michiel Schuer

Enthusiastic about learning new things, side-hustles, and translating my personal experiences into motivational stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.