Psyche logo

Reflection on Skills Developed & Training

Fall 2017 UTSA

By Rebecca K Published 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Abstract

In the following pages, I will describe and reflect on three different developmental online trainings. The first training I will discuss is Cognitive Processing Therapy (CPT) for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in Veterans and Military Personnel. The second training I will discuss is Provider Resiliency. And the final training is Epidemiology of PTSD in Military Personnel & Veterans. These trainings were made available by the Center for Deployment Psychology. I found them to be most insightful and resourceful.

Independent Skill Development & Training

I completed Cognitive Processing Therapy (CPT) for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) in Veterans and Military Personnel for the Evidence-based Psychotherapy online training. What caught my attention and made it easier to learn is how this intervention breaks down post-trauma reactions into four symptom-clusters. The first three clusters are cognitions, intrusions, and emotion and arousal (core PTSD reactions) while the fourth deals with escape and avoidance behaviors (The Center for Deployment Psychology, 2016). Another thing that I liked about CPT are the 6 phases of treatment. It is a clear breakdown of how to proceed, not just for the client but for the counselor as well. I also liked the goals of treatment and how it uses accommodation as the means for which the recovery process takes place. This approach makes sense to me. I think it helps the survivor change their belief structure in such a way that the trauma is then seen in a realistic way.

I have family members and friends that are currently seeking help with PTSD. I cannot speak much on their experiences, but I can say that I know that they all experience severe intrusions and cognitions that impair their daily functioning. A friend of mine has gone through two divorces, woken up startled and in defensive modes, and even has caused harm to a family animal. He has told me that he carries so much guilt, but never talks about it in detail. So even though I may not know what his trauma is, I can see the effects of PTSD. I hope that through this class and more training classes such as this one, I can learn the necessary skills to be able to help other survivors.

The second online training I completed was Provider Resiliency and Self-Care: An Ethical Issue. I absolutely loved this training. I learned the hard way about the importance of self-care and this training reinforces the importance. I was particularly interested in learning about burnout and reduce compassion fatigue. Another very important topic in this training was the ethical repercussions. I was very interested in learning about the potential ethical issues that a provider can experience because of burnout or secondary trauma stress.

Sadly, most of the mental health agencies I have worked for over the years have been deficient in trainings for provider self-care. Even with supervision and a support structure, I still managed to burn out and it manifested physically. Since then, I have worked on a wellness plan for myself and I continue to add to it. I know that this specific training has opened my eyes to many things and I will be more self-aware. I believe that the best way to prevent any ethical dilemmas, compassion fatigue or future burnouts is to see a therapist myself. Even consulting with fellow counselors or having meetings with my direct supervisor can help me to make surer that I provide the best care and treatment for the client.

The third and final online training I completed was Epidemiology of PTSD in Military Personnel & Veterans. This training thoroughly explained the development of PTSD, the importance of assessing PTSD and the treatment of PTSD. I really felt it explained the types of combat trauma exposure very well. That was something new I learned and will take with me. This training also discussed the emotional reactions during deployments (Center for Deployment Psychology, 2016).

This training helped me to understand the assigned reading Sparta. And it helped me to have a better understanding of PTSD overall. Even though, I am not currently seeing and military clients, San Antonio is a military city and I know eventually I will have a client that has served our country. This class and these trainings has helped me to gain some insight and understanding of the different types of trauma exposures service members face.

I liked the was the training was organized. I recall it being sectioned into three categories; pre-trauma factors, trauma factors, and post-trauma factors. As a student counselor, I found this information highly valuable. This training also provided information on evidence-based treatments. It discussed the use of medications such as Zoloft and Paxil. Both of those medications have been found beneficial for many individuals with PTSD. Another treatment of choice includes techniques such as cognitive processing therapy and eye-movement desensitization and reprocessing (Center for Deployment Psychology, 2016). Completing these trainings is just one step towards being that counselor that can provide the type of care our military personnel need.

Works Cited

The Center for Deployment Psychology. 2016. Cognitive Processing Therapy (CPT) for PTSD in

Veterans and Military Personnel. Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. http://deploymentpsych.org/online-courses/cpt.

The Center for Deployment Psychology. 2016. Provider Resiliency and Self-Care: An Ethical Issue.

Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. http://deploymentpsych.org/online-courses/self-care.

The Center for Deployment Psychology. 2016. Depression in Service Members and Veterans. Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. http://deploymentpsych.org/content/outline-online-course-epidemiology-ptsd-military-personnel-and-veterans.

ptsd
1

About the Creator

Rebecca K

As a lover of arts and the the truth I enjoy writing. It allows me to express myself while sharing life lessons, precious moments and even the unspeakable moments. I encourage feedback on my posts so feel free to speak your mind. Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.