Psyche logo

Reflecting to start a new

“With a growth mindset, you can move forward leave the fixed mindset behind”

By Lisa AragonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
# Conqueredforme Your fate is based on your faith it is never to late

I have spent all my life trying to live up to the expectations of society and have been my worst critic especially when I fail. I am the creature of habit to fall back to my old ways of depression and feeling sorry for myself when everything seems to be crumbling down. I looked myself in the mirror and hated the person staring back at me letting it interfere with every aspect of my life. I became a robotic form of working at a job I had no passion for and fake smiles, I felt as if I was losing my purpose with every fail, the negative voices reminded me I was nothing special. The only thing that did not die was my creativity for art and design which I believe is what kept my dream alive buried underneath all the defeat. November of 2020 I had hit my breaking point with almost one last breath to leave everything behind all the unfinished projects, unaccomplished dreams would be diminished, but everything also included my family. First time in my life I was actually glad to say I was not successful at wanting to do something that would have been in the favor of my own demons.

My name is Lisa Aragon and I'm a masterpiece in progress conquering one day at a time in my own way because my faith is alive and that is what determines your fate it is never too late.

I have been writing since I was a little girl I have over 20 journals full and so many unfinished projects it’s time to start going somewhere with my passion than just a closed drawer to collect dust.

2021 is my year to thrive and conquer these mental barriers and along the way help others through my story and inspire there is a way to beat the negativity believe me. I have struggled with depression since I was 11 and never been on meds which led to my addiction starting at 13 off and on.

I beat that battle sobering up for good in 2018 after a relapse of being 3 years clean. I finally was done running and playing hide and seek with the devil on my own terms. I started my degree in communications wanting to be an inspiring voice and motivational speaker and after November I realized there is so much more I want to do for the better. 2021 I started my bachelor’s in human services to pursue my license as a therapist in my future. I have begun therapy myself and looking into EMDR therapy along with Neurotherapy which is a fascinating holistic approach to better understand PTSD and depression.

Discovering I have also been diagnosed with ADHD combined type may be a barrier, but honestly, I look at it as being unique embracing my flaws to learn from them and cope. There is nothing stopping me from moving forward but my own self-doubt and that is a fact I refuse to waste more time and conquer the challenges at hand to learn more about them. 2021 I will be better, nicer to myself, and won’t give up. Starting my business #conqueredforme for others to join me to be inspired through my art, story, and practices. 2021 will be my year and it should be yours too.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Aragon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.