Psyche logo

Reality and Perception.

A healthy dose of nihilism can be beneficial for the mind and soul.

By Ari Asha LovePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Often as humans, we like to believe that our reality is exactly what it is. But truthfully, reality is only what we make of it. The experiences we go through may be very real to our humanly senses, but the way that we choose to view them are very subjective in nature.

If a tree falls in the forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?

The obvious answer is yes. Of course it makes a sound.

But at the same time, what does it matter if nobody is around to perceive it? Not to say that the only thing that matters is human perception, but it is very crucial to our own existence.

Yes, being kidnapped and forced to join a circus to live out your childhood as a monkey could easily be considered a negative thing. But assuming the child enjoys this experience, who is to say it isn't a positive set of events for the person involved? Who really is to say anything about it other than the person experiencing the perceived tragedy?

I am only 23, about to be 24 earth years in a few weeks, but I have gone through quite a few messed up moments in my life. I have experienced some things that others might consider ending it all over, but I have chosen to persevere. I have chosen not to let these moments put an end to all the things I'd envisioned for myself in this lifetime.

Reality is such an interesting concept, because it literally rules anything else you could possibly think of. Along with general perception, reality is literally the foundation of everything we know. The way one looks at a situation is technically all the situation is. There is no objective truth outside of perception, and that's a pretty hefty claim, but I think that phrasing is important here.

Often, when we humans are afraid of something, it's either because of what we don't know (future-related things) or because of the way others may perceive us.

A piece of advice that has helped me a bit with my anxiety over the years is the understanding that nothing truly matters unless we make it matter. We all die at the end of our lives, and so it's pretty useless to me to waste time stressing over things that one day will not even exist anymore.

However, I will say that reaching this peace of mind is not the most easy when we have been conditioned to sweat the small things. But I do believe it is so worth it to get to this place. You deserve to hold peace in your hands.

I have gone through psychosis twice in my lifetime and a huge thing that it has taught me is that reality is truly bendable. Our brains are both immensely powerful and extremely fragile at the same time. The way one sees the world is the literal foundation for their entire existence and reality as far as they are concerned.

I remember experiencing deep paranoia for the first time during psychosis and it is not a pleasant thing to go through.

This is partially why it is so easy for me to understand the plights and narrow minds of others, because we all have different upbringings, therefore different perceptions and ways of looking at the world. We all perceive reality slightly differently from one another and that is to be respected in my opinion. Maybe not so much the specific opinions and beliefs, but the fact that we are all wired so differently and can exist in the same space. The fact that we all have different ideals for the way one should live.

It is so interesting to me and I genuinely do enjoy understanding why or how someone may believe the things they do. The human mind is truly fascinating on so many levels.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Ari Asha Love

Been writing all my life but the question is whether or not I truly take it seriously.

You can find me on most social media platforms as afroqueergod :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.