Psyche logo

Raw & Uncut The Truth about Addiction

My Personal Real Life Experience: Part One

By Emily OrganPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Addiction- how can we make it stop?

I am just going to jump in! I hate addiction but I recognize it, I know that it's a nasty mental health disease that is wiping out our current generation. The disease that has kids growing up without one or both parents, kids witnessing things they should never have to see, children torn from their homes, and parent burying their children and raking in their grandchildren. Addiction was something I felt so lucky to have escaped, or at least for awhile I thought I did. I was the one who didn't care to drink or go to house parties, but I loved smoking my weed and being home. Even at 17 and 18. As I got a little older I experimented with acid once, ecstasy a few times and when it was my clubing years I got into cocaine. All of which I could take or leave it and it didn't control my life. Year's go by and I'm diagnosed with some medical conditions that land me on and off pain meds for 10 years, I formed a dependence. Fortunately I escaped using heroin and anything more then a 10 mg percocet. It's been 5 years since my last one.

Over the last 5 years I've watched friends become strangers, I've tried to help friends, I've begged friends to get help. I've now buried one to many people I know including my best friend. But it doesn't stop here, nope addiction really found its way into my life even more then ever. Addiction is 100% a family disease. Over the last year I've gotten involved in volunteering for addiction recovery support groups and advocacy. I've helped a few people into programs, and I'm in college for my bachelors in Social Work and eventually hopefully my masters. But a few weeks ago, addiction came knocking. Not for me personally, but closer to home then ever. My not even 2 year old daughters father who was sober for some time found himself in a relapse that he hasn't been able to come out of. About 6 months ago I started the argument that he was getting high but at the time it wasn't to excessive, as the months went on he progressed. He is terrifying In ways I can't explain. He is so high functioning, or at least he was until recently. Now after the last week of events, especially those from the last 2 nights have me believing the next time I see him will be in a casket.

Let's Rewind.... (names changed for privacy, but this is my true first hand experiences)

Wednesday: ”It's going on 2 weeks, 2 weeks ago that you said to me you wanted to try for us and to be here with your daughter but as you said you needed to first be sober.”

When Mitch first brought up coming to stay at my place he knew he had to first be sober. A few days after this comment was made Mitch said and asked for helping getting into Detox and can his stuff stay at my place while he was gone. I said absolutely and knowing if he found his way back to recovery that we would work on being a couple, so I planned to let him come stay with me after detox and rehab. The thing is Mitch isn't just a user but the one people call, so he is very much addiction to the lifestyle and money also. Detox didn't last more then a couple days but he promised be was gonna go through rehab and get mandated. He kept trying to make excuses and by this day, Wednesday Mitch has not slept yet at all.

Wednesday Evening: Another fight with Mitch. Apparently I don't care because I keep saying he can't stay here until he is sober. The fight escalated over a few things and he packed up and left. He was heading out to make money and to do what he does best, get high. What sucks is I know the sober Mitch and I loved him, wanted to get to know him, but now my most recent cry for help was not handle properly... And so Mitch will or will not ever see me again... And the story is going to continue --- tomorrow tune in for Thursday-Friday and current times. You won't believe where this all goes.....

addiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.