Psyche logo

"Radio, music, poetry, stories, all mine."

Six-Word Memoirs

By Agnes LaurensPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
"Radio, music, poetry, stories, all mine."
Photo by Paulette Wooten on Unsplash

"Radio, music, poetry, stories, all mine."

These are the activities I do in my life. I make a local politics radio program, I play the violin in an orchestra as well, preparing myself for an audition for the conservatory, and I write stories and poems. That is what I do and that is what I love to do in my life, and it all belongs to me.

Radio is what I love to do every third Thursday of the month. That is the moment when the local politicians have the annual monthly public meetings and discuss the topics of the borough.

I make local radio programs since September of 2012. When I sat behind the microphone the first time, I have been in love with making radio programs. I do the local political radio broadcast live. You will be recognized in the local community, but nobody sees you. That is one of the things that I love about this profession.

Making radio is something that take times to prepare before actually speaking into the microphone. You have ton read all the document of each topic, plus you have to read all the motions, questions from the citizens, etc...

When I make the radio programs, I feel that I can be visible without actually being visible and that nobody sees me.

Playing the violin is what I do since the age of seven. It is job my blood and veins even since I started to play the cello at the age of five. As a little child I sang in a choir, and from the age of nine until today, I play the violin in diverse orchestra's - one of them is The Youth Orchestra of The Netherlands.

When I hold my violin in my hands, I feel in ease with myself, with my family and friends, with my surroundings, and above all with the world. I feel I can through everything when I play(ed) the violin. It seems that the world is mine and yet we're together as well. Music connects somehow. We all have the feelings and emotions we get when listening to music.

Since I was a little child, I went to concerts, I gave concert myself, and I listened to my siblings playing their instrument. Now I listen to my daughters music, and I love it.

When I listen to others, I feel that everything I have been through is touched by a blanket that lays over my body. It is a lovely feeling. It's like I can take on the whole world again.

In 2016 I created an account on the online writing platform Medium. I haven't done with that a lot at that time, but since 2019 I wrote a lot. Even, I tried to write every day. Writing every day does't work out, but almost every day does work out.

Since writing online, I started to love writing as well as a profession. It doesn't give me the money I expected yet, but it is a fulfilling job and even, I wrote some books on Amazon. Like playing the violin, writing articles, fantasy stories and personal essays, it gives me an incredible joy of a feeling.

Vocal is another platform I write articles on. It is a platform with so many possibilities, also it has a smooth interface as well as the love for the challenges they create. I love these challenges because it keeps up my writing, and I don't mind if I don't win, I will improve my writing skills.

There are so many online writing platforms I write on, but not that much as I would love to. Preparing for an audition for the conservatory takes up lots of time at the moment, but the ideas for writing will be stored in my notebooks.

Two years ago, I started to write my own poem on Medium. I didn't know how that would work out. I don't expect anything. Surprisingly, it worked out well and my readers wanted to read more poems of mine. Now I try different kind of poetry forms, from Japanese to France to whatever kind of poetry form exist. It keeps me busy and I love poetry a lot because I can express feelings and emotions.

====================================================

About the writer

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with her husband and three daughters. You can find her on Vocal, Medium, Elephant Journal, HubPages, Music List. Writing is — aside from playing the violin — one of her passions since childhood. She is on Twitter and Instagram. You can subscribe to my mailing list, and you can subscribe to my Thoughts. Check out her books. She has an online web store, and she has a merchandise store. If you want to be informed about my online store and my merch, please follow this link.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.