Psyche logo

PTSD

What can help?

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
PTSD
Photo by Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

Post-traumatic stress disorder. We have heard it, we have seen it on the screen. Media and television have focused around soldiers who have been through war and have seen death. However, PTSD can affect just about anyone. It has affected me and it is still there. I had no idea I had PTSD, I thought all of my past life events have been figured out. I have spoken to someone after the event had happened and I thought I was doing fine. Until...trigger. Trigger. I did not know what that word meant until it happened. I was brought back to a moment where I did not feel safe. I was brought back to the moment where I was hurt by someone I trusted. For a long time I believed it was my fault, that I deserved what I got. I did not. I did not deserve an ounce of it. The fact is I did not open up to anyone about my experience, other than the priest while in confession. He told me what I knew was right. He said to me: "What happened to you was not your fault, it was his for having these thoughts that led him to believe it was okay." I heard what I knew and it reaffirmed everything I had been taught as a child. When you say no to someone it means no. You do not have to give an explanation, you do not need a reason. No. Means. No. He did not get it. Why? because no one in his life has ever said no to him. I went on the pill shortly after for fear it would happen again. I should not have to do that, I should not be so afraid of being hurt to take medications that mess with your hormones, that make you feel emotions that you are not used to. That should not be okay.

"Don't let someone who does not know your value tell you how much you are worth"

This man took everything away from me, he took away my light, he took away my smile, my laugh, my general happiness. It happened. I am stronger though. I am much stronger.

"You are doing great. You are stronger than you think. Don't give up"

I found someone amazing, he pushes me to be a better person, he pushes me to improve upon myself, but slowly I feel that I am losing him because of my dark and twisty past. There is so much drama there and I do not want to suck him in. I decided to get help with my triggers. They need to stop. I want them to stop. I do not want to keep living in it or reliving it. I tried to do a meditation, which worked to a certain degree, but it happened again. The more he knows about me, the darker it becomes. I have already shared with him things that I have not with any other person. He has told me things, which I don't know if he's told others about. I know one thing for sure, he is end game for me. He does not shy away from problems, he sees them as something that needs to be faced head-on. Even if this thing does end between us, I need to know that I tried. I need to know that I gave it everything and that is exactly what I will do. So, I decided to get help because I need it.

"You should never regret anything in life. If it's good, it's wonderful. If it's bad, it is experience"

There are many people struggling with this more than I realize. I am writing about it because it needs to be seen, it needs to be heard, it needs to be talked about. My faith keeps me going. Hopefully, reader yours does too.

"Never regret anything from your past because one day, you'll look back and thank it for hurting you so much that you decided to become a stronger human being"

So what does help deal with PTSD?

1. Breathing

2. Tell yourself you are in a safe place

3. Reach out to others

4. Get moving

5. Meditation walks

6. Eat healthy

7. Avoid substances

8. Therapy

Therapy is probably the best solution. Get help, stay calm and carry on.

ptsd
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.